Art and peace-building
a

Curator’s Initiative

1 Tanya Ergunova

Photo: Tanya Ergunova

2 Tanya Ergunova

Photo: Tanya Ergunova

3 Fenja Laeser

Photo: Fenja Läser

4 Constantin Gretsoff

Photo: Constantin Gretsoff

5 Constantin Gretsoff

Photo: Constantin Gretsoff

6 Constantin Gretsoff

Photo: Constantin Gretsoff

7 Tanya Ergunova

Photo: Tanya Ergunova

8 Fenja Laeser

Photo: Fenja Läser

As part of the Curators Initiative project, artasfoundation supported two young curators from Abkhazia¹: Asida Butba and Tanya Ergunova. They were invited onto a research trip to Switzerland. In August 2015 they visited Swiss artists’ studios, museums, exhibitions and free art spaces in Zurich, Basel, Bern, Môtiers, Lausanne and Geneva. After this intensive journey, they selected seven artists to be exhibited in February 2016 in an exhibition in Sukhum/i that they curated.

Asida Butba and Tanya Ergunova are leading a loose group of young people in Sukhum/i who wished to build a free arts and cultural space. The group found a provisional space in the backdrop store of the local dramatic theatre where the first exhibition of European contemporary art took place in October 2015: an innovation for today’s Abkhazia. In the show, works from the exhibition Connecting Spaces organized by artasfoundation in autumn 2014 in Basel, and works from Sukhum/i artists were shown. The exhibition was met with a great deal of interest, led to reports on local television and internet news media, and triggered discussions about what ‘contemporary art’ is. Later, in December 2015, an exhibition of the Sukhum/i artist Arkhip Labakhua took place at the same location.

In February 2016 the third exhibition by the two curators in the newly-named SKLAD cultural centre opened. The exhibition was titled ‘Open Air Games’ with works from Swiss artists. Three of them travelled to Sukhum/i for the exhibition: Andrea Wolfensberger built a sand sculpture on site, Markus Schwander responded to the Black Sea coast with a new chapter to a previous photographic work, and Beat Lippert organised a pétanque tournament. The exhibition was a playful introduction to contemporary art and an impulse for the further development of the SKLAD cultural centre initiated by the curators.

Open Air Games – Social Media
SKLAD – Social Media
Video

Place and year
Sukhum/i, Switzerland, 2015–2016

Artists
Luc Aubort, Cécile Hummel, Beat Lippert, Bettina Mürner, Markus Schwander, Andrea Wolfensberger

Curators
Asida Butba and Tanya Ergunova

Project management
Sabine Jenni (artasfoundation)

Financial contribution
Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) Task Force Switzerland

¹artasfoundation would like to underline that its use of names and titles particularly in regards to conflict regions should not be understood as implying any form of recognition or non-recognition by the foundation or as having any other political connotation whatsoever.

Kunst im Wiederaufbau

Curator’s Initiative

Foto: Tanya Ergunova

Foto: Tanya Ergunova

Foto: Fenja Läser

Foto: Constantin Gretsoff

Foto: Constantin Gretsoff

Foto: Constantin Gretsoff

Foto: Tanya Ergunova

Foto: Fenja Läser

Im Rahmen des Projektes Curator’s Initiative unterstützt artasfoundation zwei junge Kuratorinnen aus Abchasien¹, Asida Butba und Tanya Ergunova. Sie haben sich auf eine Ausschreibung hin beworben und werden daraufhin auf eine Recherchereise in die Schweiz eingeladen. Im August 2015 besuchen sie Schweizer Künstler*innen in ihren Ateliers sowie Museen, Ausstellungen und freie Kunsträume in Zürich, Basel, Bern, Môtiers, Lausanne und Genf. Nach dieser intensiven Reise wählen sie sieben Künstler*innen, die im Februar 2016 in einer von ihnen kuratierten Ausstellung in Suchum/i präsentiert werden sollen.

Asida Butba und Tanya Ergunova leiten eine lose Gruppe junger Menschen in Suchum/i, die einen freien Kunst- und Kulturraum aufbauen wollen. Die Gruppe hat im Kulissenlager des lokalen Dramatheaters provisorisch einen Raum gefunden, wo im Oktober 2015 eine erste Ausstellung Europäischer Gegenwartskunst stattfindet: eine Neuerung für das heutige Abchasien¹. In der Ausstellung werden Arbeiten aus der von artasfoundation im Herbst 2014 in Basel organisierten Ausstellung Connecting Spaces sowie Arbeiten von Künstler*innen aus Suchum/i gezeigt. Die Ausstellung stösst auf grosses Interesse, führt zu Berichten im lokalen Fernsehen und in Internetzeitungen und löst Diskussionen darüber aus, was zeitgenössische Kunst ist. Später, im Dezember 2015, findet am gleichen Ort eine Ausstellung des Suchumer Künstlers Arkhip Labakhua statt.

Die dritte Ausstellung der beiden Kuratorinnen im nunmehr SKLAD getauften Kulturzentrum eröffnet im Februar 2016. Es ist die Ausstellung Open Air Games mit Arbeiten von Künstler*innen aus der Schweiz. Drei von ihnen reisen für die Ausstellung nach Suchum/i: Andrea Wolfensberger baut vor Ort eine Skulptur aus Sand, Markus Schwander entwickelt eine bestehende Fotoarbeit weiter und Beat Lippert organisiert ein Pétanque-Turnier. Die Ausstellung ist ein zum Spiel einladender Einstieg in die zeitgenössische Kunst und ein Impuls für die Weiterentwicklung des von den Kuratorinnen initiierten Kulturzentrums SKLAD.

Open Air Games – Soziale Netzwerke
SKLAD – Soziale Netzwerke

Partner

Künstler*innen
Luc Aubort, Cécile Hummel, Beat Lippert, Bettina Mürner, Markus Schwander, Andrea Wolfensberger

Kuratorinnen
Asida Butba und Tanya Ergunova

Projektleitung
Sabine Jenni (artasfoundation)

Finanzieller Beitrag
Task Force Schweizer OSZE-Vorsitz

¹artasfoundation betont, dass die Nutzung von Bezeichnungen und Namen, besonders im Hinblick auf die Konfliktregionen, nicht als Anerkennung oder Nichtanerkennung durch die Stiftung ausgelegt werden sollen. Sie haben in diesem Zusammenhang keinerlei politische Konnotationen.