Art and peace-building
a

off/line

off/line was created in 2016 from the project series Art Camp and is the title of an annual joint residency of artists from Western Europe and Georgia in Zemo Nikozi, a village directly on the demarcation line to South Ossetia¹. The subtitle of the project is: What can art do in Zemo Nikozi?

The long-lasting tensions in the Shida Kartli region led to war in 2008 and to the de facto separation of South Ossetia from Georgia. Zemo Nikozi lies in sight of the South Ossetian capital Tskhinvali and was hit particularly hard by the war. Today things have quietened down in the village, but the demarcation line is still secured by the Georgian military police and the entire region is stigmatized because of its proximity to the demarcation line. This has an impact on everyday life. For example, the residents cannot receive bank loans and live in a relatively isolated situation.

During their work stays in Zemo Nikozi, the artists lived with various families in the village. In contact with their hosts and in exchange with each other, they explored the question of what art can do in the specific situation between gradual post-war rehabilitation and stagnant conflict. The artists were free to pursue their interests and methods and to find their own ways of reacting to the encounters, themes and needs that arise in Zemo Nikozi. What perspectives could be found in the place and for the place? Which stories and everyday phenomena manifested themselves in village life and which remained intangible? How could pictures and shared experiences be created that take into account the different backgrounds of Swiss and Georgian artists and the village population?

Daily discussions took place among the artists about the work processes and experiences; in a final public presentation, they shared their work with the villagers.

The goals of off/line concern on the one hand the place and the local population, where the project not only brings a source of income (through accommodation) but also interesting questions and new impulses through exchange and encounters with foreigners. On the other hand, the aims of the project concern the debates between the invited artists, their site-specific work and a reflection on the structure of the encounters and collaborations that arise in the process this work.

 

off/line 2019

01 Magnus Lorenz

Photo: Magnus Lorenz

02 Anna Fatyanova

Photo: Anna Fatyanova

03 Magda Mamaladze

Photo: Magda Mamaladze

04 Anna Fatyanova

Photo: Anna Fatyanova

05 Anna Fatyanova

Photo: Anna Fatyanova

06 Michel Eisele

Photo: Michel Eisele

07 Michel Eisele

Photo: Michel Eisele

08 Anna Fatyanova

Photo: Anna Fatyanova

09 Anna Fatyanova

Photo: Anna Fatyanova

10 Magnus Lorenz

Photo: Magnus Lorenz

11 Anna Fatyanova

Photo: Anna Fatyanova

12 Magda Mamaladze

Photo: Magda Mamaladze

13 Sopho Kobidze

Photo: Sopho Kobidze

14 Sopho Kobidze1

Photo: Sopho Kobidze

In October 2019, the exchange programme off/line took place for the 5th time. Twenty artists from Western Europe and Georgia travelled to the Georgian village of Zemo Nikozi, where they were warmly received by the villagers. This year, the idea was to reflect the history of this exchange project within the framework of this current edition. The curators, Marcel Bleuler and Lali Pertenava, invited the artists to think about the following questions: what has been the effect of art on Zemo Nikozi? What do the villagers and hosts wish from the artists? How should the project be pursued?

Many of the participants formed small groups and worked together on the topics with the villagers. Individual art projects were also carried out. Georgian and West European artists worked in close collaboration in an inspiring and appreciative atmosphere.

One group of artists (Cana Bilir-Meier, Veronika Burger, Paula Ďurinová, Nutsa Esebua, Anna Fatyanova, Tina Henkel, Mona Hermann, Tamar Nadiradze, Ninutsa Shatberashvili) devoted itself to the role of women in the village and organised an evening ‘for women only.’ They cooked for the guests from the village, who enjoyed the treat and could relax from their household duties. The atmosphere of trust led to deep and very personal conversations, the content of which remained within the group. Some of the artists (Michel Eisele, Giorgi Geladze, Kniko Grdzelishvili) developed ideas for the children from the village. They set up a temporary workshop in the former community hall, where they met every day with the children and elaborated small projects together with them. They talked, drew, painted, and made music without the pressure of results.

One group (Nutsa Esebua, Manuela Luterbacher, Maëlle Torné) decided to ask the villagers about their wishes. They contributed readily to the fulfilment of some of the wishes. In this way the decoration of a house could be worked out and realised with the owners. This led to a fascinating discussion about what is art and what is beautiful. While the artists wanted to paint a decoration in a contemporary aesthetic, the owners of the house preferred a more figurative decoration, like a pond with swans. It became clear that the important thing was neither the subject-matter, nor the style, but the fact of decorating together.

Several art projects reflected on the everyday life in the village. An exciting example was the work of Paula Ďurinová. The artist suggested that the villagers film the most important and valuable objects in their households. The villagers became filmmakers and collaborators in the artistic work, and the film a self-portrait in which they could recognise themselves. The voice of the villagers was given a visible ‘value’. Natia Benashvili also started from contributions by the villagers. She collected utterances in the village and painted these texts on the walls of an abandoned signal tower along the railway. Sopho Kobidze designed a site-specific installation in a garden in which she thematized the importance of the soil and earth as the basis for nutrition in the village. Nutsa Esebua devoted her work to the role of the garden, drawing a map of apple orchards whose access had been blocked by the war. Michel Eisele immortalized his efforts with the village and its language on the wooden boards of his host family’s old wine press. Maëlle Torné and Jordis Fellmann livened up an abandoned industrial lot on the outskirts of the village, setting their works in the context of the landscape.

The atmosphere in the artists’ group was an important feature of the work in Zemo Nikozi. That is why the artist Cana Bilir-Meier turned her attention to the group dynamics. For this, she drew on tools for team-building in the form of group exercises with the artists. This brought the group together and supported the individuals in coping with the village, even in the absence of a common language. In a general manner, language and above all the role of the interpreters were decisive. The challenges for the participants who spoke Georgian or Russian were especially great. The artist Veronika Burger based her video work on this.

Many of the projects were of a participatory and socially committed nature. The creative collaboration intensified an exchange between the cultures in which all could learn from each other. One often heard villagers say how ‘powerless’ individuals were in the face of ‘big politics’: ‘What can we do? We don’t decide anything’. The collaboration on the artworks offered the villagers a context in which they could experience self-confidence and their own worth again.

Although the inhabitants of Nikozi talked a lot about the war, they preferred remembering the times before it, when there were no demarcation line and they could travel about freely. Most of the villagers would even travel on business to Russia, where they could sell their Georgian products, mainly fruit and vegetables. Many had family on the other side of today's demarcation line and in Russia.

‘We travelled a lot and often had visits from Russian friends and relatives. Nowadays, not even the birds fly there and back,’ said the grandmother of one of the host families. In each of the families, one could sense the longing for exchange and free movement. That’s why the off/line project is no less inspiring and important for the villagers.

Place and year
Zemo Nikozi, 2019

Participating artists
Sofo Kobidze, Nutsa Esebua, Natia Benashvili, Magnus Lorenz, Giorgi Geladze, Ninutsa Shatberashvili, Giorgi Vardiashvili, Paula Ďurinová, Anna Fatyanova, Manuela Luterbacher, Maelle Torné, Jordis Fellmann, Cana Bilir-Meier, Michel Eisele, Veronika Burger, Tina Henkel, Mona Hermann, Tamar Nadiradze, Kniko Grdzelishvili, Evan Ruetsch

Curators and local coordination
Marcel Bleuler (artasfoundation)
Lali Pertenava, Tiflis

Interpreters
Marta Todua
Magda Mamaladze

off/line 2018

1 offline 2018 Marcel Bleuler

Photo: Marcel Bleuler

2 offline 2018 Klaus Erich Dietl

Photo: Klaus Erich Dietl

3 offline 2018 Klaus Erich Dietl

Photo: Klaus Erich Dietl

4 offline 2018 Klaus Erich Dietl

Photo: Klaus Erich Dietl

5 offline 2018 Klaus Erich Dietl

Photo: Klaus Erich Dietl

6 offline 2018 Klaus Erich Dietl

Photo: Klaus Erich Dietl

7 offline 2018 Klaus Erich Dietl

Photo: Klaus Erich Dietl

8 offline 2018 Marcel Bleuler

Photo: Marcel Bleuler

9 offline 2018 Klaus Erich Dietl

Photo: Klaus Erich Dietl

10 offline 2018 Marcel Bleuler

Photo: Marcel Bleuler

11 offline 2018

Photo: artasfoundation

12 offline 2018

Photo: artasfoundation

13 offline 2018

Photo: artasfoundation

14 offline 2018

Photo: artasfoundation

15 offline 2018

Photo: artasfoundation

16 offline 2018

Photo: artasfoundation

18 offline 2018

Photo: artasfoundation

In 2018, off/line was already in its fourth year. Twenty-four artists from Western Europe and Georgia took part in this exchange project and travelled to the village of Zemo Nikozi on the demarcation line from the war between Georgia and South Ossetia¹. The residents appeared increasingly open and curious towards the arriving artists. They organized ‘supras’ around the campfire, engaged in sometimes surprising collaborations and showed their skills at the final event, which once again attracted visitors from the entire region with its Open Stage. The invited artists also presented their works on this final day: such as, newly-made video films, equipment built together with local young people for the local bodybuilding studio, a new clothing collection made from work clothes, and also the ‘largest apple pie in Georgia’ produced – and afterwards eaten – with the participation of the entire village.

However, the growing familiarity with Zemo Nikozi also made prevailing tensions more visible. For the first time, the host families, each of which accommodated two artists and who were paid for their work were selected through the drawing of lots from among all those interested. The fair and transparent procedure in itself caused a stir in the village, and self-interests and ideas of justice were clearly formulated for the first time. artasfoundation’s claim to conflict sensitivity was put to the test. In the course of the project, however, it became apparent that discussion also leads to activation. For the first time the village community was interested in the budget of off/line, the origin of the money and the goals pursued by artasfoundation. The friendly restraint gave way to a debate that took relationships to a new level. Since the meaningfulness of the artists’ stay in the village was never called into question, artasfoundation decided to continue in the following year.

Place and year
Zemo Nikozi, 2018

Participating artists
Aleko Avazashvili, Baptiste El Baz, Nathalie Brechbühl, Paula Ďurinová, Elene Gabrichidze, Mariam Giunashvili, Eka Ketsbaia, Tamar Khmiadashvili, Ilia Kobeshavidze, Nathalie Koger, Manuela Luterbacher, Stephanie Müller & Klaus Dietl, Johanna Padge, Solomon Razmadze, Evan Ruetsch, Tsira Sanaia, Lena Lieselotte Schuster, Levan Shvelidze, Jelko Terziev, Natuka Vatsadze, Nurith Wagner-Strauss, Nino Zirakishvili.

Curators and local coordination
Marcel Bleuler (for artasfoundation)
Lali Pertenava, Tbilisi

Translators
Tiko Davitashvili
Salome Todua

Financial contribution
Max Kohler Foundation

off/line 2017

1 Benjamin Egger

Photo: Benjamin Egger

2 Benjamin Egger

Photo: Benjamin Egger

3 Nurith Wagner Strauss

Photo: Nurith Wagner-Strauss

4 Nurith Wagner Strauss

Photo: Nurith Wagner-Strauss

5 Marcel Bleuler

Photo: Marcel Bleuler

6 Marcel Bleuler

Photo: Marcel Bleuler

7 Marcel Bleuler

Photo: Marcel Bleuler

8 Marcel Bleuler

Photo: Marcel Bleuler

9 Marcel Bleuler

Photo: Marcel Bleuler

In late September 2017, 12 artists from Georgia and 12 from Switzerland, Austria and Germany travelled to Zemo Nikozi for a two-week exchange and work stay. A lot had changed in the village since the previous year: the main street had been newly renovated and equipped with lighting, and the checkpoint moved to the edge of the village. The villagers, like the omnipresent police officers, were very excited about the guests, and well experienced in accommodating the group (all artists lived in pairs with a host family).

As in the previous year, the group met daily in the workshop room of the former community centre, which also houses the police headquarters and the Women’s Association, one of the two informal partner organisations that occasionally support the artists with great openness. With the help of translators, the artists pursued their own work interests from day one and looked for starting points to deal with the place and its inhabitants. Due either to the artists selected or the growing openness of the residents of Nikozi, they became increasingly involved in the artistic projects. On the closing day, which was marked by presentations, exhibitions and a celebration, they appeared at the Art, Craft and Everyday Objects Museum (organized by Johanna Padge, Stefanie Rittler and Lali Pertenava), performed at the Open Stage (organised by Nino Khurashvili and Jürgen Rendl), ventured to pose in the photo sets (by Nina Willimann, Nora Longatti, Inga Shalvashvili) and contributed to the buffet with local specialties (organised by Jennifer Mira Ackermann and Martha Todua). The stay proved to be productive both from an artistic point of view and in terms of mutual exchange within the triangle of artists from Eastern and Western Europe and inhabitants of Nikozi, and will definitely be resumed.

Place and year
Zemo Nikozi, 2017

Participating artists
Anna Witt, Benjamin Egger, Esther Kempf, Fanni Futterknecht, Gocha Jgenti, Inga Shalvashvili, Jennifer Mira Ackermann, Johanna Padge, Jürgen Rendl, Kamen Stoyanov, Katharina Swoboda, Lado Lomitashvili, Mariam Pesvianidze, Mariam Gabrichidze, Mrvarisa Joyce, Nina Willimann, Nino Khurashvili, Nora Longatti, Nurith Wagner-Strauss, Stefanie Rittler, Tatja Tvaladze, Tiko Qsovreli, Toma Glurjidze, Vato Jorkoshvili

Curators and local coordination
Marcel Bleuler (artasfoundation)
Lali Pertenava, Tbilisi

Translators
Marta Todua
Elene Maisuradze

Financial contribution
Austrian Embassy, Tbilisi

off/line 2016

1 Sabine Schlatter

Photo: Sabine Schlatter

2 Benjamin Egger 1

Photo: Benjamin Egger

3 Benjamin Egger

Photo: Benjamin Egger

4 Benjamin Egger

Photo: Benjamin Egger

5 Linda Pfenninger

Photo: Linda Pfenninger

6 Sabine Schlatter

Photo: Sabine Schlatter

7

Photo: artasfoundation

8

Photo: artasfoundation

off/line 2016 took place with 11 artists from Switzerland and Germany and with an equally large group of artists from Georgia. Their work processes pointed in very different directions. Many of them remained explicitly open about their outcome. The aim of artasfoundation was to promote encounters and artistic exchange, as well as to facilitate new dynamics in village life. Most of the artists worked in collaboration and followed the individual perspectives of village residents. Daily discussions about working processes took place in a local workshop space. The end of the work phase was celebrated in the local school and the former cultural centre of the village with public presentations and a joint celebration.

Place and year
Zemo Nikozi, 2016

Participating artists
Linda Pfenninger, Nino Megrelishvili, Till Wittwer, Tornike Gabedava, Marc Horler, David Kukhalashvili, Benjamin Egger, Philip Michael Matesic, Levan Shvelidze, Sara Grütter, Naili Vakhania, Nuca Esebua, Deirdre O’Leary, Lea Rüegg, Mariam Aghdgomelashvili, Mari Panculaia, Olivia Jaques, Luiza Laperadze, Tamar Botchorishvili, Sabine Schlatter, Inga Shalvashvili, Nora Longatti

Curators and local coordination
Marcel Bleuler (artasfoundation)
Lali Pertenava, Tbilisi

Translators
Martha Todua
Elene Maisuradze

Financial contribution
Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation for South Caucasus (SDC)

¹artasfoundation would like to underline that its use of names and titles particularly in regards to conflict regions should not be understood as implying any form of recognition or non-recognition by the foundation or as having any other political connotation whatsoever.

Kunst im Wiederaufbau

off/line

off/line ist 2016 aus der Projektreihe Art Camp hervorgegangen und ist der Titel eines jährlichen gemeinsamen Arbeitsaufenthaltes von Kunstschaffenden aus Westeuropa und Georgien in Zemo Nikozi, einem Dorf direkt an der Demarkationslinie zu Südossetien¹. What can art do in Zemo Nikozi? ist der Untertitel des Projektes.

Die lang andauernden Spannungen in der Region Shida Kartli mündeten 2008 in einen Krieg und führten zur de facto Abtrennung Südossetiens¹ von Georgien. Zemo Nikozi liegt in Sichtnähe der südossetischen Hauptstadt Tskhinvali und wurde vom Krieg besonders hart getroffen. Heute ist es im Dorf ruhig, doch wird die Demarkationslinie von der georgischen Militärpolizei gesichert, und die gesamte Region ist wegen ihrer Nähe zur Demarkationslinie stigmatisiert. Dies wirkt sich auf das alltägliche Leben aus. Die Bewohner*innen erhalten beispielsweise keine Bankkredite und leben in einer relativ isolierten Situation.

Während der Arbeitsaufenthalte in Zemo Nikozi wohnen die Kunstschaffenden bei verschiedenen Familien im Dorf. In Kontakt mit ihren Gastgeber*innen und im Austausch untereinander gehen sie der Frage nach, was Kunst in der spezifischen Situation zwischen allmählicher Nachkriegs-Rehabilitation und eingefrorenem Konflikt tun kann. Die Künstler*innen sind frei, ihren Interessen und Methoden nachzugehen und eigene Wege zu finden, auf die Begegnungen, Themen und Bedürfnisse in Zemo Nikozi zu reagieren. Was für Perspektiven lassen sich in dem Ort und für den Ort finden? Welche Geschichten und Alltagsphänomene manifestieren sich im Dorfleben, und welche bleiben ungreifbar? Wie lassen sich Bilder und gemeinsame Erlebnisse schaffen, die die unterschiedlichen Lebenshintergründe der schweizerischen und georgischen Kunstschaffenden und der lokalen Bewohner*innen berücksichtigen?
Über die Arbeitsprozesse und Erfahrungen finden unter den Kunstschaffenden tägliche Diskussionen statt, in einer öffentlichen Abschlusspräsentation teilen sie ihre Arbeit mit den Dorfbewohner*innen.

Die Ziele von off/line beziehen sich einerseits auf den Ort und seine Bevölkerung, wohin das Projekt nicht nur eine Einkommensmöglichkeit (für Beherbergung), sondern auch Interesse und neue Impulse durch Austausch und Begegnungen bringt. Andererseits beziehen sich die Ziele des Projektes auf die künstlerischen Auseinandersetzungen der eingeladenen Künstler*innen, auf ihre ortsspezifische Arbeit und eine Reflexion der Struktur der Begegnungen und Zusammenarbeit.

 

off/line 2019

Foto: Magnus Lorenz

Foto: Anna Fatyanova

Foto: Magda Mamaladze

Foto: Anna Fatyanova

Foto: Anna Fatyanova

Foto: Michel Eisele

Foto: Michel Eisele

Foto: Anna Fatyanova

Foto: Anna Fatyanova

Foto: Magnus Lorenz

Foto: Anna Fatyanova

Foto: Magda Mamaladze

Foto: Sopho Kobidze

Foto: Sopho Kobidze

Im Oktober 2019 wurde das Austauschprojekt off/line zum fünften Mal durchgeführt. 20 Künstler*innen aus Westeuropa und Georgien reisen in das georgische Dorf Zemo Nikozi und werden von den Dorfbewohner*innen herzlich empfangen. Dieses Jahr soll der Austausch im Rahmen des Projekts evaluiert werden. Die Kurator*innen Marcel Bleuler und Lali Pertenava laden die Künstler*innen ein, sich zu folgenden Fragen Gedanken zu machen: Was hat Kunst in Zemo Nikozi bewirkt? Was wünschen sich die Einwohner*innen und Gastgeber*innen von den Künstler*innen? Wie soll das Projekt weitergeführt werden? Es werden vier Haupthemen formuliert.

Viele der Teilnehmenden schliessen sich in kleinen Gruppen zusammen und bearbeiten die Themen im Austausch mit den Bewohner*innen. Ebenso werden Kunstprojekte von Einzelnen realisiert. Georgische und westeuropäische Künstler*innen arbeiteten eng zusammen, es herrschte ein wertschätzendes und inspirierendes Arbeitsklima.

Schaffung eines Raumes für Begegnung und Austausch
Eine Künstlerinnengruppe (Cana Bilir-Meier, Veronika Burger, Paula Ďurinová, Nutsa Esebua, Anna Fatyanova, Tina Henkel, Mona Hermann, Tamar Nadiradze, Ninutsa Shatberashvili) widmet sich der Rolle der Frauen im Dorf und gestaltet einen Abend „nur für Frauen“. Sie kochen für die eingeladenen Dorfbewohnerinnen, während diese sich verwöhnen lassen und vom Haushalten erholen dürfen. In diesem vertrauensvollen Rahmen entwickeln sich tiefe, sehr persönliche Gespräche, die Inhalte sind in der Gruppe geblieben. Einige der Künstler*innen (Michel Eisele, Giorgi Geladze, Kniko Grdzelishvili) entwickeln Angebote für die Kinder aus dem Dorf. Im ehemaligen Gemeindesaal richten sie einen temporären Workshopraum ein. Dort treffen sie sich täglich mit den Kindern und entwickeln mit ihnen gemeinsam kleine Projekte. Sie diskutieren, malen, zeichnen und musizieren ohne Ergebnisdruck.

Befragung der Einwohner*innen nach Wünschen im Dorf
Eine Gruppe (Nutsa Esebua, Manuela Luterbacher, Maëlle Torné) entscheidet sich, die Einheimischen nach ihren Wünschen zu befragen. Zur Erfüllung von eigenen Wünschen tragen die Einwohner*innen gerne bei. So wird die Bemalung eines Hauses zusammen mit den Besitzer*innen konzipiert und ausgeführt. Dabei kommt es zu einem spannenden Aushandlungsprozess darüber, was Kunst und was schön sei. Während die Künstler*innen eine Bemalung in zeitgenössischer Ästhetik umsetzen möchten, machen sich die Hausbesitzer*innen für eine dekorative Bemalung, zum Beispiel einen Teich mit Schwänen, stark. Es wurde klar, dass weder Sujet noch Ästhetik entscheidend sind, sondern das gemeinsame Gestalten.

Reflexion des Alltagslebens im Dorf und persönliche künstlerische Projekte
Das Alltagsleben im Dorf wird in mehreren Kunstprojekten reflektiert. Ein spannendes Beispiel ist die Arbeit von Paula Ďurinová. Die Künstlerin bittet die Dorfbewohner*innen die wichtigsten und wertvollsten Dinge im Haushalt zu filmen. So werden die Bewohner*innen zu Filmemacher*innen und Mitgestalter*innen der künstlerischen Arbeit und der Film zu einem Selbstportrait, in dem sich die Bewohn*innen wiederfinden; die Stimme der Bewohner*innen bekommt einen sichtbaren „Wert“. Auch Natia Benashvili geht von Beiträgen der Bewohner*innen aus. Sie sammelt Aussagen im Dorf und bemalt mit diesen Texten die Wände eines verlassenen Überwachungsturms an der ehemaligen Eisenbahnstrecke. Sopho Kobidze gestaltete eine ortsspezifische Installation in einem Garten, in der sie die Wichtigkeit des Bodens und der Erde als Ernährungsgrundlage für das Dorf thematisiert. Auch Nutsa Esebua widmet ihre Arbeit der Rolle des Gartens. Sie zeichnet eine Karte mit den Apfelbaumgärten, deren Zugänge durch den Krieg gesperrt wurden. Michel Eisele verewigt seine Auseinandersetzung mit dem Dorf und der Sprache auf Holzbrettern einer alten Weinpresse seiner Gastfamilie. Maëlle Torné und Jordis Fellmann bespielen ein verlassenes Industriegelände etwas ausserhalb des Dorfes, wo sie ihre Arbeiten in den Kontext der Landschaft setzen. Magdnus Lorenz zeigt seine Arbeit „Georgia, we always loved you“ auf einer EU-Fahne mit Schusslöchern.

Künstlerische Reflexion des Projektes off/line
Die Stimmung in der Künstlergruppe ist ein wichtiger Aspekt der Arbeit in Zemo Nikozi. So setzt sich die Künstlerin Cana Bilir-Meier mit der Gruppendynamik auseinander. Dabei führt sie Elemente der Teambildung in Form von Gruppenübungen mit Künstler*innen durch. Das Ziel ist es, die Beziehung und das Vertrauen untereinander zu stärken und auszubauen. Das verbindet die Gruppe und unterstützt die Einzelnen, sich im Dorf zurechtzufinden, auch wenn man keine gemeinsame Sprache spricht. Generell sind die Sprache und vor allem auch die Rolle der Übersetzer*innen entscheidend. Die Herausforderungen für die Teilnehmenden, die Georgisch oder Russisch können, sind speziell anspruchsvoll. Dazu erstellt die Künstlerin Veronika Burger ihre Videoarbeit.

Viele Projekte tragen partizipativen, sozial engagierten Charakter. Die kreative Zusammenarbeit intensiviert den Austausch zwischen den Kulturen in dem alle Beteiligten voneinander lernen können. Oft hört man im Dorf, wie „machtlos“ ein Mensch gegenüber der „grossen Politik“ sei: „Was können wir machen? Wir entscheiden nichts“. Die Mitgestaltung der Kunstwerke bietet den Dorfbewohner*innen einen Kontext, indem sie die Selbstsicherheit und den eigenen Wert wieder spüren können.

Obwohl die Einwohner*innen von Nikozi viel über Krieg erzählen, erinnern sie sich lieber an die Zeiten davor, als es noch keine Grenze gab und sie frei reisen durften. Die meisten Dorfbewohner*innen reisten nach Russland, geschäftlich – dort konnten sie ihre georgischen Waren, vor allem Gemüse und Obst, verkaufen. Viele haben Familie auf der anderen Seiten der Grenzen. „Wir sind viel gereist und hatten oft Besuch von den russischen Freunden und Verwandten. Heute fliegen nicht mal mehr die Vögel hin und zurück“, erzählt die Grossmutter aus einer Gastfamilie. Sehnsucht nach Austausch und freier Bewegung spürt man in jeder Gastfamilie. Deshalb ist das Projekt off/line sehr inspirierend und wichtig auch für die Dorfbewohner*innen.

Partner
Beteiligte Künstler*innen
Natia Benashvili, Cana Bilir-Meier, Veronika Burger, Paula Ďurinová, Nutsa Esebua, Michel Eisele, Anna Fatyanova, Jordis Fellmann, Giorgi Geladze, Kniko Grdzelishvili, Tina Henkel, Mona Hermann, Olivia Jaques, Sofo Kobidze, Magdnus Lorenz, Manuela Luterbacher, Tamar Nadiradze, Evan Ruetsch, Ninutsa Shatberashvili, Maelle Torné, Giorgi Vardiashvili
 
Kuratorium und lokale Koordination
Marcel Bleuler (artasfoundation)
Lali Pertenava, Tiflis
Dagmar Reichert (artasfoundation)
 
Übersetzung
Marta Todua
Magda Mamaladze

off/line 2018

Foto: Marcel Bleuler

Foto: Klaus Erich Dietl

Foto: Klaus Erich Dietl

Foto: Klaus Erich Dietl

Foto: Klaus Erich Dietl

Foto: Klaus Erich Dietl

Foto: Klaus Erich Dietl

Foto: Marcel Bleuler

Foto: Klaus Erich Dietl

Foto: Marcel Bleuler

off/line geht 2018 bereits ins vierte Jahr. 24 Künstler*innen aus Westeuropa und Georgien nehmen an diesem Austauschprojekt teil und reisen ins Dorf Zemo Nikozi an die Demarkationslinie aus dem Krieg zwischen Georgien und Südossetien¹. Die Bewohner*innen sind zusehends offen und neugierig gegenüber den ankommenden Kunstschaffenden. Sie organisieren Supras am Lagerfeuer, lassen sich auf mitunter ausgefallene Zusammenarbeiten ein, und sie zeigen ihr Können am Abschlussevent, der mit seiner Open-Stage Besucher*innen aus der ganzen Region anlockt. Auch die eingeladenen Kunstschaffenden präsentieren an diesem Abschlusstag ihre Arbeiten: Z.B. neu entstandene Videofilme, ein gemeinsam mit Jugendlichen gebautes Inventar für den lokalen Body-Building Raum, eine aus Arbeitskleidung hergestellte neue Kleiderkollektion sowie ein unter Beteiligung des ganzen Dorfes produzierter „grösster Apfelkuchen von Georgien“ . Dieser wird zum Schluss gemeinsam verspeist.

Die wachsende Vertrautheit mit Zemo Nikozi lässt aber auch Spannungen sichtbarer werden. Zum ersten Mal werden die Gastfamilien, die jeweils zwei Kunstschaffende beherbergen und dafür bezahlt werden, nicht einfach angefragt, sondern unter allen Interessierten in einem Losverfahren bestimmt. Das an sich faire und transparente Vorgehen hat im Dorf für Aufsehen gesorgt, Eigeninteressen und Vorstellungen von Gerechtigkeit werden klar formuliert. artasfoundations Anspruch auf Konfliktsensitivität wird auf die Probe gestellt. Im Verlauf des Projektes zeigt sich jedoch, dass die Diskussion zu einer positiven Aktivierung führt. Die Dorfgemeinschaft interessiert sich erstmals für das Budget von off/line, für die Herkunft des Geldes und die Interessen, die artasfoundation verfolgt. Die freundliche Zurückhaltung ist einer Auseinandersetzung gewichen, die die Beziehungen auf eine neue Ebene stellt. Da dabei nie die Sinnhaftigkeit des Aufenthalts der Künstler*innen im Dorf in Frage gestellt wird, wird sich artasfoundation im folgenden Jahr weiter auf diese neue Bewegung einlassen.

Partner

Beteiligte Künstler*innen
Aleko Avazashvili, Baptiste El Baz, Nathalie Brechbühl, Paula Ďurinová, Elene Gabrichidze, Mariam Giunashvili, Eka Ketsbaia, Tamar Khmiadashvili, Ilia Kobeshavidze, Nathalie Koger, Manuela Luterbacher, Stephanie Müller & Klaus Dietl, Johanna Padge, Solomon Razmadze, Evan Ruetsch, Tsira Sanaia, Lena Lieselotte Schuster, Levan Shvelidze, Jelko Terziev, Natuka Vatsadze, Nurith Wagner-Strauss, Nino Zirakishvili

Kuratorium und lokale Koordination
Marcel Bleuler (artasfoundation)
Lali Pertenava, Tiflis

Übersetzung
Tiko Davitashvili
Salome Todua

Finanzieller Beitrag
Max Kohler Stiftung

off/line 2017

Foto: Benjamin Egger

Foto: Benjamin Egger

Foto: Nurith Wagner-Strauss

Foto: Nurith Wagner-Strauss

Foto: Marcel Bleuler

Foto: Marcel Bleuler

Foto: Marcel Bleuler

Foto: Marcel Bleuler

Foto: Marcel Bleuler

Auch 2017 reisen 12 Künstler*innen aus Georgien und 12 aus der Schweiz, Österreich und Deutschland für einen zweiwöchigen Austausch und Arbeitsaufenthalt nach Zemo Nikozi. Im Dorf hat sich seit dem vergangenen Jahr einiges verändert: Die Hauptstrasse ist ausgebaut und mit einer Beleuchtung versehen, zudem ist der Checkpoint an die Dorfgrenze verlegt. Die Dorfbewohner*innen wie auch die omnipräsenten Polizeibeamten zeigen sich sehr gespannt auf die Gäste und das lokale Netzwerk wirkt geübt darin, die Gruppe unterzubringen (alle Künstler*innen leben zu zweit bei einer Gastfamilie).

Wie im vergangenen Jahr trifft sich die Gruppe täglich im Workshopraum, im ehemaligen Gemeindehaus, wo sich auch die Polizeizentrale sowie die eine Women’s Association befindet, eine der zwei informellen Partner-Organisationen, die den Künstler*innen mit grosser Offenheit und Hilfsbereitschaft unter die Arme greifen. Von Übersetzerinnen unterstützt, gehen die Kunstschaffenden vom ersten Tag an ihren eigenen Interessen nach und suchen nach Ansatzpunkten, um auf den Ort und seine Bewohner*innen einzugehen. Es mag an der Auswahl der Künstler*innen oder an der wachsenden Offenheit der Bewohner*innen selbst liegen, dass sich diese vermehrt auf die künstlerischen Projekte einlassen. So treten sie am Abschlusstag, der mit Präsentationen, Ausstellungen und einem Fest begangen wird, im Rahmen des Art, Craft and Everyday Objects Museum (organisiert von Johanna Padge, Stefanie Rittler und Lali Pertenava) in Erscheinung, sie treten auf der Open Stage (organisiert von Nino Khurashvili und Jürgen Rendl) auf, sie werfen sich in der Fotokulisse (von Nina Willimann, Nora Longatti, Inga Shalvashvili) in Szene, oder sie tragen für das Buffet mit lokalen Spezialitäten (organisiert von Jennifer Mira Ackermann und Martha Todua) bei. Der Aufenthalt erweist sich als produktiv sowohl in künstlerischer Hinsicht als auch in Bezug auf den gegenseitigen Austausch im Dreieck von Künstler*innen aus Ost- bzw.  Westeuropa und Bewohner*innen von Nikozi und soll auf jeden Fall fortgesetzt werden.

Partner

Beteiligte Künstler*innen
Anna Witt, Benjamin Egger, Esther Kempf, Fanni Futterknecht, Gocha Jgenti, Inga Shalvashvili, Jennifer Mira Ackermann, Johanna Padge, Jürgen Rendl, Kamen Stoyanov, Katharina Swoboda, Lado Lomitashvili, Mariam Pesvianidze, Mariam Gabrichidze, Mrvarisa Joyce, Nina Willimann, Nino Khurashvili, Nora Longatti, Nurith Wagner-Strauss, Stefanie Rittler, Tatja Tvaladze, Tiko Qsovreli, Toma Glurjidze, Vato Jorkoshvili

Kuratorium und lokale Koordination
Marcel Bleuler (artasfoundation)
Lali Pertenava

Übersetzung
Marta Todua
Elene Maisuradze

Finanzieller Beitrag
Österreichische Botschaft Tiflis

off/line 2016

Foto: Sabine Schlatter

Foto: Benjamin Egger

Foto: Benjamin Egger

Foto: Benjamin Egger

Foto: Linda Pfenninger

Foto: Sabine Schlatter

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

2016 findet off/line mit 11 Kunstschaffenden aus der Schweiz und aus Deutschland und mit einer gleich grossen Gruppe von Künstler*innen aus Georgien statt. Ihre Arbeitsprozesse weisen in ganz verschiedene Richtungen. Viele bleiben in ihrem Ausgang explizit offen. Das Ziel von artasfoundation ist es, die Begegnung und den künstlerischen Austausch zu fördern, sowie neue Impulse für das Dorfleben zu ermöglichen. Die meisten Künstler*innen arbeiten kollaborativ und gehen individuellen Perspektiven von Dorfbewohner*innen nach. Über die Arbeitsprozesse finden tägliche Diskussionen in einem lokalen Workshopraum statt. Das Ende der Arbeitsphase wird in der lokalen Schule und dem früheren Kulturhaus des Dorfes mit einer öffentlichen Präsentation und einem gemeinsamen Fest gefeiert.

Partner

Beteiligte Künstler*innen
Linda Pfenninger, Nino Megrelishvili, Till Wittwer, Tornike Gabedava, Marc Horler, David Kukhalashvili, Benjamin Egger, Philip Michael Matesic, Levan Shvelidze, Sara Grütter, Naili Vakhania, Nuca Esebua, Deirdre O’Leary, Lea Rüegg, Mariam Aghdgomelashvili, Mari Panculaia, Olivia Jaques, Luiza Laperadze, Tamar Botchorishvili, Sabine Schlatter, Inga Shalvashvili, Nora Longatti

Kuratorium und lokale Koordination
Marcel Bleuler (artasfoundation)
Lali Pertenava

Übersetzung
Martha Todua
Elene Maisuradze

Finanzieller Beitrag
DEZA Kooperationsbüro für den Südkaukasus

¹artasfoundation betont, dass die Nutzung von Bezeichnungen und Namen, besonders im Hinblick auf die Konfliktregionen, nicht als Anerkennung oder Nichtanerkennung durch die Stiftung ausgelegt werden sollen. Sie haben in diesem Zusammenhang keinerlei politische Konnotationen.