Art and peace-building
a

Conversation Pieces

1 Frank Ellenberger 1

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

2 Frank Ellenberger 1

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

3 Frank Ellenberger 1

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

4 Frank Ellenberger 1

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

5 Frank Ellenberger

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

6 Frank Ellenberger 1

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

7 Frank Ellenberger 1

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

8 Frank Ellenberger 1

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

9 Frank Ellenberger 1

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

10 Frank Ellenberger 1

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

11 Frank Ellenberger

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

12 Frank Ellenberger 1

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

13 Frank Ellenberger

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

Conversation Pieces is a cooperative project between artasfoundation, the SKLAD cultural centre in Sukhum/i (the capital of the internationally by most countries not recognised Abkhazia¹) and the Berlin architects’ collective raumlabor, lasting several months. After organising exhibition projects, regular film evenings and several discussion events in the cultural centre, which has been in existence since October 2015, the curators of SKLAD decided together with artasfoundation to make the topic of public space the focus of the next cooperation project (see also Curator’s initiative).

The public urban space in Sukhum/i shows numerous traces of the war, there are abandoned, unused and underappreciated places in central areas, but also architects, activists and creative artists who want to shape their city. A cooperation with the Berlin raumlabor, which is active in cities all over the world and concerned with the space between urban buildings and with the habits and needs of residents, gave new energy to this and allowed new ideas to emerge.

The cooperation started with an online exchange about everyday life in the two so very different cities of Sukhum/i and Berlin. Afterwards the raumlabor architect Marius Busch travelled together with artasfoundation to Sukhum/i for a research week. Architects and activists of SKLAD organised guided tours of the city and visits to various craft businesses in order to give visitors an overview of the topics that are important for the city. Ideas for the redesigning or conversion of interesting places were developed together. A few weeks later, three architects from raumlabor, Benjamin Förster-Baldenius, Marius Busch and Claire Mothais, arrived and an intensive work and construction phase began: the intention was that not only ideas, but also temporary architecture would result and give concrete structural impulses.

The subsequent work is marked by future visions for the city of Sukhum/i. Symbols and furnishings were built for an Institute of Visionaries, which opened its doors at the beginning of October for a few days in the abandoned Guma railway station (formerly Baratashvili) and invited broad public participation to reflect on visions. In addition to the symbolic inscription of the building and the Sklad 2020 rocket, a large city map was installed, on which the raumlabor architects drew the visions of passers-by, as well as a mobile kitchen and a ping-pong table, all of which invited everyone to communicate and share the centrally located, beautiful and yet often unused and deserted station.

Conversation Pieces lived up to its title, bringing participants together to discuss and develop visions for Sukhum/i. And it demonstrated to all participants how much a group of people could build together by hand in a short time. In order to leave a lasting impression in the city centre of Sukhum/i, the SKLAD architecture group continues to pursue its vision, and organises a winter programme with lectures and film evening, and remains in dialogue with raumlabor.

SKLAD – social media
SKLAD – Youtube

Place and year
Sukhum/i, 2016

Participants
Asida Butba, Tatyana Ergunova, Nasta Agrba, Bislan Bagateliya, Astamur Butba, Amra Chichibaya, Kama Katsiya, Sabina Kharjelia, Alkhaz Kvaratskelya, Saida Lakrba, Astamur Maan, Nadeer Saeed, Omar Shaguch

Project management
Sabine Jenni (artasfoundation)
Marius Busch (raumlabor)
Benjamin Förster-Baldenius (raumlabor)
Claire Mothais (raumlabor)

Partner organisation
Kulturzentrum SKLAD

Financial contribution
Human Security Division (HSD) of the Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA)
Heinrich Böll Stiftung, South Caucasus Office

¹artasfoundation would like to underline that its use of names and titles particularly in regards to conflict regions should not be understood as implying any form of recognition or non-recognition by the foundation or as having any other political connotation whatsoever.

Kunst im Wiederaufbau

Conversation Pieces

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Conversation pieces ist ein mehrmonatiges Kooperationsprojekt des Kulturzentrums SKLAD in Suchum/i (der Hauptstadt des international von den meisten Staaten nicht anerkannten Abchasiens¹) und des Berliner Architektur-Kollektivs raumlabor im Jahr 2016. Nach Ausstellungsprojekten, regelmässigen Filmabenden und mehreren Diskussionsveranstaltungen im seit Oktober 2015 bestehenden Kulturzentrum entscheiden sich die Kuratorinnen des SKLAD mit der Unterstützung von artasfoundation, das Thema öffentlicher Raum ins Zentrum des nächsten Kooperationsprojektes zu stellen (siehe auch Curator’s initiative).

Die Stadt Suchum/i zeigt zahlreiche Spuren des Krieges, es gibt verlassene und unterschätzte Orte an zentralen Plätzen, aber auch Architekt*innen, Aktivist*innen und Kulturschaffende, die ihre Stadt gestalten wollen. Eine Kooperation mit dem raumlabor Berlin, das sich in vielen Städten mit dem RauAm zwischen Stadtbauten und den Gewohnheiten und Bedürfnissen von Bewohner*innen auseinandersetzt, gibt dafür Impulse und lässt neue Ideen entstehen.

Die Kooperation startet mit einem Online-Austausch über das Alltagsleben in den sehr unterschiedlichen Städten Suchum/i und Berlin (siehe Blogs). Anschliessend reist der raumlabor-Architekt Marius Busch gemeinsam mit artasfoundation für eine Recherchewoche nach Suchum/i. Architekt*innen und Aktivist*innen des SKLAD organisieren Stadtführungen und Besuche in verschiedenen Handwerksbetrieben, um den Besucher*innen einen Überblick über die für die Stadt wichtigen Themen zu verschaffen. Gemeinsam werden Ideen für die Neugestaltung oder Umnutzung von interessanten Orten entwickelt. Einige Wochen später reisen drei Architekt*innen von raumlabor, Benjamin Förster-Baldenius, Marius Busch und Claire Mothais, an, und eine intensive Arbeits- und Bauphase beginnt: Es sollen nicht nur Ideen, sondern auch temporäre Architekturen als konkrete bauliche Impulse entstehen.

Die Arbeit steht im Zeichen von Zukunfts-Visionen für die Stadt Suchum/i. Gebaut werden Symbole und ein Mobiliar für ein Institut der Visionäre, das Anfang Oktober für ein paar Tage im verlassenen Bahnhof Guma (ehem. Baratashvili) seine Tore öffnet und ein breites Publikum einlädt, über Visionen nachzudenken. Neben der symbolischen Beschriftung des Gebäudes und der Rakete Sklad 2020 werden ein grosser Stadtplan installiert, auf dem die raumlabor-Architekten die Visionen von Passant*innen eingezeichnet haben, sowie eine mobile Küche und ein Pingpong-Tisch gebaut, die zum Austausch und Zusammensein im zentralen, schönen und doch oft unbenutzten Bahnhof einladen.

Conversation pieces wird seinem Titel gerecht – es bringt Teilnehmende und Beteiligte zum Diskutieren und Entwickeln von Visionen für Suchum/i. Es demonstriert allen Beteiligten, wie viel eine Gruppe von Menschen gemeinsam in Handarbeit und in kurzer Zeit bauen kann. Um eine nachhaltige Wirkung im Stadtzentrum von Suchum/i zu hinterlassen, verfolgt die Architekturgruppe des SKLAD die Visionen weiter, veranstaltet ein Winterprogramm mit Vorträgen und Filmabenden zum Thema und bleibt mit dem raumlabor im Austausch.

SKLAD – Soziale Netzwerke

Partner

Teilnehmende
Nasta Agrba, Bislan Bagateliya, Asida Butba, Astamur Butba, Amra Chichibaya, Tatyana Ergunova, Kama Katsiya, Sabina Kharjelia, Alkhaz Kvaratskelya, Saida Lakrba, Astamur Maan, Nadeer Saeed, Omar Shaguh

Projektleitung
Sabine Jenni (artasfoundation)
Marius Busch (raumlabor)
Benjamin Förster-Baldenius (raumlabor)
Claire Mothais (raumlabor)

Partnerorganisation
Kulturzentrum SKLAD

Finanzieller Beitrag
Heinrich Böll Stiftung, South Caucasus Office
Abteilung Menschliche Sicherheit des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten

¹artasfoundation betont, dass die Nutzung von Bezeichnungen und Namen, besonders im Hinblick auf die Konfliktregionen, nicht als Anerkennung oder Nichtanerkennung durch die Stiftung ausgelegt werden sollen. Sie haben in diesem Zusammenhang keinerlei politische Konnotationen.