Art and peace-building
a

Complaints Choir

Video: Tellervo Kalleinen and Oliver Kochta

Photo: artasfoundation

Photo: artasfoundation

Photo: artasfoundation

Photo: artasfoundation

Photo: artasfoundation

Photo: artasfoundation

Photo: artasfoundation

Photo: artasfoundation

From 23. February to 23. March 2014 artasfoundation realised a singing project in Georgia. The Finnish artist couple Tellervo Kalleinen and Oliver Kochta created a Complaints Choir together with young people from the Georgian refugee settlements of Khurvaleti and Shavshvebi.

The Complaints Choir created an opportunity for meetings and discussions for the residents of these settlements, people who had to leave their homes in the 2008 war between Georgia and South Ossetia/Russia and who were torn from their social context. Instead of a one-sided portrayal of them as victims, here they could make their presence felt through their potential and creative abilities. Through this the project gave a voice and audience in public space to a population group that is often seen as only being ‘administered’ to.

Residents from the refugee settlements of Khurvaleti and Shavshvebi, near the provincial capital Gori, were invited to participate in the Complaints Choir. Contrary to our hope that adults, especially young women with children would join the choir, the main participants were actually young people.

The Complaints Choir format comes from Tellervo Kalleinen and Oliver Kochta and has already been implemented in numerous cities around the world but never by people in a refugee settlement. In the first step, around 35 of them formulated their complaints, often very elementary inadequacies involving their school or life situations. Using this material, they worked with a local musician/composer to create a new complaints song, which they then rehearsed together. The rehearsals took place in their settlements, always accompanied by Tellervo Kalleinen, Oliver Kochta and many members of the young people’s families. Then came the public performances of the song: the Complaints Choir performed their concerns in the corresponding settlements and also in public places in Gori and Tbilisi: It gave expression to serious demands, as well as helping to build the strength to stand up for oneself.

Partner

Artistic direction
Tellervo Kalleinen
Oliver Kochta
Giorgi Sadzaglishvili (choir conductor and composer)

Project management
Linda Pfenninger (artasfoundation)
Dagmar Reichert (artasfoundation)
Natia Kapanadze, Tbilisi

Local coordination
Marika Mgrebishvili (Vereinigung Biliki, Gori)

Partner organisation
Vereinigung Biliki, Gori

Financial contribution
Arts Council of Finland

¹artasfoundation would like to underline that its use of names and titles particularly in regards to conflict regions should not be understood as implying any form of recognition or non-recognition by the foundation or as having any other political connotation whatsoever.

Kunst im Wiederaufbau

Complaints Choir

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Vom 23. Februar bis zum 23. März 2014 realisiert artasfoundation ein Gesangsprojekt in Georgien. Das finnische Künstlerpaar Tellervo Kalleinen und Oliver Kochta bilden gemeinsam mit jungen Menschen aus den georgischen Flüchtlingssiedlungen Khurvaleti und Shavshvebi einen Complaints Choir.

Für die Bewohner*innen dieser Siedlungen für Menschen, die 2008 im Krieg zwischen Georgien und Südossetien¹/Russland ihre Heimat verlassen mussten und aus ihrem sozialen Umfeld gerissen wurden, schafft der Complaints Choir einen Anlass für Zusammenkünfte und Gespräche. Entgegen der einseitigen Darstellung als Opfer können sie hier mit ihrem Potenzial und ihren schöpferischen Fähigkeiten in Erscheinung treten. Damit verleiht das Projekt einer häufig nur „verwalteten“ Bevölkerungsgruppe unmittelbares Gehör im öffentlichen Raum.

Für den Complaints Choir sind Bewohner*innen aus den Flüchtlingssiedlungen Khurvaleti und Shavshvebi nahe der Provinzhauptstadt Gori eingeladen. Entgegen der Hoffnung auch Erwachsene, insbesondere junge Frauen mit Kindern für den Chor zu gewinnen, nehmen vorwiegend Jugendliche an der Initiative teil.

Das Format des Complaints Choir stammt von Tellervo Kalleinen und Oliver Kochta und wurde bereits in zahlreichen Städten der Welt umgesetzt, noch nie jedoch von Menschen in einer Flüchtlingssiedlung. In einem ersten Schritt formulieren hier nun rund 35 von ihnen ihre Beschwerden: häufig sehr elementare Unzulänglichkeiten im Zusammenhang mit ihrer Schul- oder Lebenssituation. Daraus erarbeiten sie mit einem lokalen Musiker/Komponisten einen neuen Complaints-Song, den sie gemeinsam einstudieren. Die Proben finden, stets begleitet von Tellervo Kalleinen, Oliver Kochta und vielen Familienangehörigen der Jugendlichen, in ihren Siedlungen statt. Danach folgen die öffentlichen Auftritte mit dem Song: Der Complaints Choir tritt mit seinen Anliegen in den eigenen Siedlungen und auf öffentlichen Plätzen in Gori und Tiflis auf: Er bringt ernstzunehmende Ansprüche zum Ausdruck und eine grosse Kraft für sich selbst einzutreten.

Partner

Künstlerische Leitung
Tellervo Kalleinen
Oliver Kochta
Giorgi Sadzaglishvili (Chorleiter und Komponist)

Projektleitung
Linda Pfenninger (artasfoundation)
Dagmar Reichert (artasfoundation)
Natia Kapanadze, Tiflis

Lokale Koordination
Marika Mgrebishvili (Vereinigung Biliki, Gori)

Partnerorganisation
Vereinigung Biliki, Gori

Finanzieller Beitrag
Arts Council of Finland

¹artasfoundation betont, dass die Nutzung von Bezeichnungen und Namen, besonders im Hinblick auf die Konfliktregionen, nicht als Anerkennung oder Nichtanerkennung durch die Stiftung ausgelegt werden sollen. Sie haben in diesem Zusammenhang keinerlei politische Konnotationen.