Art and peace-building
a

Bring Your Own Chair

Bring your own Chair is the programmatic name for a mobile open-air cinema in West Georgia. Zugdidi, the capital of the Megrelia and Upper Svanetia region (320 km from Tbilisi) was the starting point for this project in 2012 and 2013. The city is located near the so-called ‘administrative border’ to Abkhazia, which strictly separates the regions since the Abkhazian¹ war of secession (1992/1993). Around a third of Zugdidi’s 120,000 inhabitants are refugees from this war. Most of them have found refuge with relatives, in hotels, schools or empty factories in and around the city. In the many years since then, the housing situation in some of their dwellings has improved slightly and some families have been resettled. However, the majority of the refugees continue to live in poverty and in particular suffer from the lack of economic prospects that also affects the local population. The unemployment rate in the region and emigration are very high, also by Georgian standards. In 2008 Zugdidi was briefly occupied by Russian troops. These troops later withdrew behind the Enguri River, which now forms part of the current administrative boundary with Abkhazia¹. The only official crossing at present is the Enguri Bridge, about 8 km from Zugdidi and can be crossed only with a special permit. In 2013, artasfoundation was able to cross this bridge with the project and continue it – at least to a small degree – on the other side.

There has been no cinema in West Georgia since the beginning of the collapse of the Soviet Union. The younger generation grew up with television. The aim of the Bring your own Chair project was not only to continue a lost tradition here (in the Soviet era cinema screenings were widespread in local cultural centres), but also to give the people of this region the opportunity to meet and exchange ideas in public space – independently of party-politics. For the artasfoundation team itself, the mobile cinema was an ideal opportunity to get to know the region and the needs of its inhabitants.

 

Bring Your Own Chair II (2013)

1 4

Photo: artasfoundation

2 4

Photo: artasfoundation

3 4

Photo: artasfoundation

4 5

Photo: artasfoundation

5 4

Photo: artasfoundation

6 3

Photo: artasfoundation

7 3

Photo: artasfoundation

8 2

Photo: artasfoundation

The Georgian population in Mingrelia and the region adjacent to Gal/i (beyond today’s so-called ‘administrative border’ to Abkhazia¹) has suffered greatly from the wars from 1992 to 1993 and in 2008, and from the ensuing refugee movements and the destruction of economic structures. Bring your own Chair complements existing initiatives for material reconstruction. Through film events it invigorates the public space and creates impulses for new ideas and new relationships.

Concretely, the aim was to create structures that allow residents of the Zugdidi and Gal/i regions to regularly watch high-quality international films. After more than 25 years without a movie theatre, the people of this peripheral region should have a new window to different parts of the world, and film art should became accessible regardless of income.

To this end, artasfoundation carried out the first cinema project on one side of the administrative border in 2012: In early autumn, a mobile open-air cinema was on the road in Zugdidi and the surrounding area, showing films on 28 evenings at 13 different locations.

This experience was followed up in 2013. In addition to film screenings in Zugdidi and the surrounding area, the mobile cinema route was now also extended to Abkhazia¹. However, this was only partially possible, as the necessary additional approvals could not be obtained at the last moment. Through cooperation with a local partner NGO in Gal/i, at least part of the planned project could be realised.
The film programme included international studio films, films from the South Caucasus as well as a special children’s film programme.

In 2013, cinema activities in Zugdidi were expanded, and a local film club Magic Lantern Zugdidi was founded there in a cooperation between the Swiss Zauberlaterne association and local organisers. From autumn onwards, this club presented regular film sessions for children and young people. The programme was prepared by the Zauberlaterne association according to an overall media education concept, with artasfoundation arranging contacts, organising the transfer of know-how and providing the infrastructure. The open-air cinema events in Zugdidi and the surrounding area were advertised under the name of Magic Lantern Zugdidi.

List of films
Press

Place and year
Zugdidi, 2013

Project team
Patrick Kull (project manager), Corina Caviezel and Tom Kotitschan for artasfoundation and Marina Davitaia (director), Shorena Ketsbaia, Elene Kikalia, Marta Todua, Lasha-Georgi Todua, Nino Toloraria, Tamuna Tchania for Samegrelo Medea

Partner organisations
Samegrelo Medea, Zugdidi
Sukhum Youth House
Avantgarde, Gal/i

Financial contribution
Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation for South Caucasus (SDC)

Practical support
Lana Chakhaia, Gaga Chkheidze, Levan Jabua, Tamara Janashia, Maka Jikia

Bring Your Own Chair I (2012)

1 3

Photo: artasfoundation

2 3

Photo: artasfoundation

3 3

Photo: artasfoundation

4 4

Photo: artasfoundation

5 3

Photo: artasfoundation

6 2

Photo: artasfoundation

Under the title ‘Bring your own Chair’, artasfoundation and the Georgian NGO Samegrelo Medea organised a series of open-air film screenings in autumn 2012. Over a period of four weeks, a total of 28 film evenings took place at 13 different locations in and around the city of Zugdidi. The open-air cinema was set up in small villages or at IDP Collective Centres.

After public film screenings had been absent from the region for more than 25 years, the aim of the project was to bring film art back to a remote and war-torn region of Georgia. For the local population and the people displaced from Abkhazia¹, the project opened a window to different regions of the world and presented topics that are discussed in the international film scene. Thus it could reconnect to a tradition of film screenings that had existed until the 1990s in West Georgia/Abkhazia.
Although the new film screening events, non-political events in public places, were unfamiliar to most visitors, they were very popular. The audience ranged from 30 to approximately 120 people, including many children. In the programme (12 short films and 14 feature films to choose from for each location), European and American classics were particularly popular

In the course of the film screenings in Zugdidi, contacts with local schools and authorities could be established with whom the development of a locally supported cinema initiative could begin.

List of films
Video

Place and year
Zugdidi, 2012

Project team
Patrick Kull (project manager), Adrian Bodisch and Corina Caviezel for artasfoundation and Marina Davitaia (director), Iana Emukhvari, Teimuraz Gitolendia and Shorena Ketsbaia for Samegrelo Medea

Partner organisations
Samegrelo Medea, Zugdidi
Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation for South Caucasus (SDC)
Cinema Solaire, Winterthur

Financial contribution
RHW-Foundation
Valüna Foundation
Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation for South Caucasus (SDC)

Practical support
Astrablu Media (Josi Konski), Zviad Arabidze, Natia Bachilava, Lana Chakhaia, Gaga Chkheidze, HFF München (Ferdinand Freising), Hunter Group (Christina Hunter), Lavan Jabua, Tamara Janashia, Nana Janelidze, Maka Jikia, Rusudan Kalichava, Peter Liechti, Fiona Meisel, Stadtverwaltung Zugdidi, Pandorafilm (Eva Blondiau), Birgit Reichert, Cinéma Solaire (Christoph Seiler), Sounding Images (Claus Wischmann), Cyrill Schläpfer, Beat Schneider, Volgafilm (Ludmila Sirokova), Yves Yersin and Stucky Film, Zaentz Media Center (David Bergad).

¹artasfoundation would like to underline that its use of names and titles particularly in regards to conflict regions should not be understood as implying any form of recognition or non-recognition by the foundation or as having any other political connotation whatsoever.

Kunst im Wiederaufbau

Bring Your Own Chair

Bring Your Own Chair ist der programmatische Name für ein mobiles Open-Air-Kino in Westgeorgien. Zugdidi, die Hauptstadt der Region Mingrelien und Oberswanetien (320 km von Tiflis entfernt), bildet den Ausgangspunkt für dieses Projekt der Jahre 2012 und 2013. Die Stadt liegt nahe der seit dem Sezessionskrieg Abchasiens¹ (1992/1993) bestehenden sogenannten Administrativgrenze zu dieser Region. Von rund 120’000 Einwohner*innen sind rund ein Drittel geflüchtete Menschen aus diesem Krieg. Die meisten von ihnen haben Zuflucht bei Verwandten, in Hotels, Schulen oder leerstehenden Fabriken in und um Zugdidi gefunden. In den vielen Jahren seither hat sich die Wohnsituation in manchen Unterkünften leicht verbessert, und einige Familien wurden umgesiedelt. Die Mehrheit der Geflüchteten lebt jedoch weiterhin in Armut und leidet besonders stark unter den mangelnden ökonomischen Perspektiven, mit denen auch die einheimische Bevölkerung konfrontiert ist. Die Arbeitslosenrate in der Region und die Abwanderung sind auch für georgische Verhältnisse sehr hoch. 2008 wurde Zugdidi kurzzeitig von russischen Truppen besetzt. Diese zogen sich später hinter den Fluss Ingur/i zurück, der nun einen Teil der aktuellen Administrativgrenze bildet. Über die Ingur/i-Brücke führt der derzeit einzige offizielle Grenzübergang. Dieser liegt ungefähr 8 km von Zugdidi entfernt und kann nur mit einer Spezialbewilligung überquert werden (oder im Falle von Ausländer*innen mit einer im Voraus beantragten Genehmigung). Im Jahr 2013 kann artasfoundation dies mit dem Projekt zumindest ansatzweise tun.

In Westgeorgien gibt es seit dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion kein Kino mehr. Die jüngere Generation wächst mit Fernsehen auf. Ziel des Projektes ist es nicht nur, hier an eine verlorene Tradition anzuknüpfen (in der Sowjetzeit waren Kinovorführungen in lokalen Kulturzentren weit verbreitet), sondern den Menschen dieser Region auch Gelegenheit zu – nicht parteipolitisch motivierter – Versammlung und zu Austausch im öffentlichen Raum zu geben. Für das Team von artasfoundation bildet das mobile Kino eine optimale Gelegenheit, die Region und die Bedürfnisse ihrer Bewohner*innen besser kennenzulernen.

 

Bring Your Own Chair II (2013)

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Die georgische Bevölkerung in Mingrelien und Oberswanetien und der angrenzenden Region (jenseits der heutigen sogenannten Administrativgrenze zu Abchasien¹ gelegen) hat durch die Kriege 1992/93 und 2008, die damit zusammenhängenden Flüchtlingsbewegungen und Zerstörungen ökonomischer Strukturen sehr gelitten. Bring Your Own Chair ergänzt bestehende Initiativen zum materiellen Wiederaufbau. Durch Kinoveranstaltungen belebt es den öffentlichen Raum und schafft Impulse für neue Ideen und neue Beziehungen.

Konkret geht es darum, Strukturen zu initiieren, die es den Bewohner*innen der Regionen um die Orte Zugdidi und Gal/i erlauben, regelmässig qualitativ hochstehende internationale Filme zu sehen. Nach über 25 Jahren ohne Kino wird für Menschen in dieser peripher gelegenen Region wieder ein Fenster zu verschiedenen Weltgegenden geöffnet und Filmkunst unabhängig vom Einkommen zugänglich sein.

Zu diesem Ziel wird von artasfoundation im Jahr 2012 auf der einen Seite der Administrativgrenze ein erstes Kinoprojekt durchgeführt: In Zugdidi und Umgebung ist im Frühherbst ein mobiles Open-Air-Kino unterwegs und zeigt an 28 Filmabenden an 13 verschiedenen Orten seine Filme.

Im Jahr 2013 wird an diese Erfahrungen angeknüpft. Neben Kinovorstellungen in Zugdidi und Umgebung soll die Route des mobilen Kinos neu auf Abchasien¹ ausgedehnt werden. Dies gelingt jedoch nur ansatzweise, da die erforderlichen zusätzlichen Genehmigungen im letzten Moment nicht erteilt werden. Durch Kooperation mit der lokalen Partner-NGO Samegrelo Medea kann aber immerhin ein Teil des Geplanten realisiert werden.

Das Filmprogramm umfasst internationale Studio-Filme, Filme aus dem Südkaukasus und ein Kinderfilmprogramm.

2013 wird das Kinoprojekt auch in Zugdidi erweitert und in einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Schweizer Verein Zauberlaterne und einheimischen Organisator*innen der lokale Filmclub Zauberlaterne Zugdidi gegründet. Dieser bietet ab dem Herbst regelmässige Vorstellungen für Kinder und Jugendliche an. Das Programm wird gemäss eines medienpädagogischen Gesamtkonzeptes vom Verein Zauberlaterne erstellt, artasfoundation vermittelt Kontakte, organisiert den Know-how-Transfer und stellt die Infrastruktur bereit. Bei den Open-Air-Kinoveranstaltungen in Zugdidi und Umgebung wird für die Zauberlaterne Zugdidi geworben.

Filmliste
Presse

Partner

Projektteam
Patrick Kull (Leitung), Corina Caviezel, Tom Kotitschan für artasfoundation und Marina Davitaia (Leitung), Shorena Ketsbaia, Elene Kikalia, Marta Todua, Lasha-Georgi Todua, Nino Toloraria, Tamuna Tchania für Samegrelo Medea

Partnerorganisationen
Samegrelo Medea, Zugdidi
Sukhum/i Youth House
Avantgarde, Gal/i

Finanzieller Beitrag
DEZA Kooperationsbüro für den Südkaukasus

Praktische Unterstützung
Lana Chakhaia, Gaga Chkheidze, Levan Jabua, Tamara Janashia, Maka Jikia

Bring Your Own Chair I (2012)

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Unter dem Titel Bring Your Own Chair veranstaltet artasfoundation gemeinsam mit der georgischen NGO Samegrelo Medea im Herbst 2012 eine Serie von Open-Air-Kinovorführungen. In einem Zeitraum von vier Wochen finden insgesamt 28 Filmabende an 13 Orten in und um Zugdidi statt. Das Open-Air-Kino wird in kleinen Dörfern oder bei Unterkünften für Vertriebene (IDP Collective Centers) aufgebaut. Bei freiem Eintritt sind jeweils ein Vorfilm aus der georgischen Filmgeschichte sowie ein internationaler Feature Film zu sehen.

Ziel des Projektes ist es, nach einer Unterbrechung von über 25 Jahren wieder Filmkunst in eine abgelegene
 und von Krieg betroffene Region in Georgien zu bringen. Für die lokale Bevölkerung und die aus
 Abchasien¹ vertriebenen Menschen öffnet das Projekt ein Fenster zu verschiedenen Regionen der Welt
 und präsentiert Themen, die im internationalen Kino diskutiert werden. Dabei kann es auf eine Tradition von Filmvorführungen Bezug nehmen, die in Westgeorgien und Abchasien¹ bis in die 1990er Jahre existierte.

Obwohl Filmvorführungen und unpolitische Veranstaltungen an öffentlichen Orten für die meisten Besucher*innen ungewohnt sind, finden sie regen Zuspruch. Das Publikum reicht von 30 bis ca. 120 Personen, darunter viele Kinder. Von den Filmen (12 Kurzfilme und 14 Feature Filme) treffen insbesondere europäische und amerikanische Klassiker den Geschmack des Publikums.

Im Zuge der Filmvorführungen in Zugdidi werden Kontakte zu lokalen Schulen und Behörden geknüpft, mit denen der Aufbau einer lokal getragenen Kinoinitiative starten kann.

Filmliste

Partner

Projektteam
Patrick Kull (Leitung), Adrian Bodisch, Corina Caviezel für artasfoundation und
Marina Davitaia (Leitung), Iana Emukhvari, Teimuraz Gitolendia, Shorena Ketsbaia für Samegrelo Medea

Partnerorganisationen
Samegrelo Medea, Zugdidi
DEZA Kooperationsbüro für den Südkaukasus
Cinéma Solaire, Winterthur

Finanzieller Beitrag
RhW Stiftung
Valüna Stiftung
DEZA Kooperationsbüro für den Südkaukasus

Praktische Unterstützung
Zviad Arabidze, Natia Bachilava, David Bergad (Zaentz Media Center), Eva Blondiau (Pandorafilm), Lana Chakhaia, Gaga Chkheidze, Ferdinand Freising (HFF München), Christina Hunter (Hunter Group), Lavan Jabua, Tamara Janashia, Nana Janelidze, Maka Jikia, Rusudan Kalichava, Josi Konski (Astrablu Media), Peter Liechti, Fiona Meisel, Stadtverwaltung Zugdidi, Birgit Reichert, Cyrill Schläpfer, Beat Schneider, Christoph Seiler (Cinéma Solaire), Ludmila Sirokova (Volgafilm), Stucky Film, Claus Wischmann (Sounding Images), Yves Yersin

¹artasfoundation betont, dass die Nutzung von Bezeichnungen und Namen, besonders im Hinblick auf die Konfliktregionen, nicht als Anerkennung oder Nichtanerkennung durch die Stiftung ausgelegt werden sollen. Sie haben in diesem Zusammenhang keinerlei politische Konnotationen.