Art and peace-building
a

Teacher’s Studio

Teacher’s Studio is a series of three workshops for those people in East Abkhazia¹ who work or plan to work with children and young people in the field of visual arts. In addition to art teachers and art students, it also addresses employees of NGOs active in the field of child and youth work.

This project was prompted by the observation that there are very few artistic (leisure) activities for children and young people in Abkhazia and that those that do exist rely on very modest art material and scarce spatial, and educational resources. The range on offer is limited because, on the one hand, there is a lack of financial means and, on the other hand, because there has been hardly any international exchange since the 1991–1993 war, and very little information about innovative art projects with children and young people has penetrated into the cities and villages of Abkhazia.

The Teacher’s Studio aims to promote artistic leisure activities for children and young people in villages and small towns in Eastern Abkhazia and in particular to support and build on the network of people who are active in this field. It brings know-how and art material to this remote region and contributes to the development of a network of culturally active people.

Social Media

 

Gal/i 2016

1 Tech Studio G Frank Ellenberger

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

2 Tech Studio G Frank Ellenberger

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

3 Tech Studio G Frank Ellenberger

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

4 Tech Studio G Frank Ellenberger

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

5 Tech Studio G Frank Ellenberger

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

6 Tech Studio G Frank Ellenberger

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

7 Tech Studio G Frank Ellenberger

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

8 Tech Studio G Frank Ellenberger

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

9 Tech Studio G Frank Ellenberger

Photo: Frank Ellenberger

The third Teacher’s Studio once again dealt with screen printing and took place from 19. to 24. September 2016 in Gal/i, the easternmost city of Abkhazia¹. Twelve participants from the introductory screen-printing course in January 2016 in Ochamchyra participated a second time in order to consolidate their knowledge and to deal with more advanced technical aspects of this printing technique.

In the workshop, the participants were introduced to various techniques in the different phases of the printing process – from the coating and washing of the screens, to the mixing of the inks and solvents. Then they organised three events in schools where they could pass on their knowledge. The participants from Gal/i and Kochora used these new skills over three afternoons in the secondary school in Kochora. The pupils were even able to expose their own templates at the end of the course. The participants from Ochamchyra gave a two-day workshop in the city’s boarding school, in which the pupils were able to design their own paper stencils and subsequently print their motifs on T-shirts they brought with them. The Swiss workshop leaders were able to take a backseat in the school workshops, as there were hardly any questions left to answer. The teachers of the art school in Gal/i have now decided to introduce screen-printing as a new subject at their school.

The screen-printing materials remained at three locations in Abkhazia: All participants of the Teacher’s Studio have access to the materials and are allowed to use it both for their own projects and for workshops. At the end of the Teacher’s Studio, the participants visited a professional screen-printing workshop in Sukhum/i. Its owner, Daur Gumba, offered to be available to them for any technical questions and reorders of material in the future.

Place and year
Gal/i, 2016

Artistic direction
Silas Heizmann
Fabian Pfeil

Project management
Sabine Jenni (artasfoundation)

Local coordination
Tsira Shubladze

Partner organisation
Kunstschule Gal/i, (Director Gulnara Kardava)

Financial contribution
Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation for South Caucasus (SDC)

Otschamtschira 2016

1 Teach Studio O Constantin Gretsoff

Photo: Constantin Gretsoff

2 Teach Studio O Constantin Gretsoff

Photo: Constantin Gretsoff

3 Teach Studio O Constantin Gretsoff

Photo: Constantin Gretsoff

4 Teach Studio O Constantin Gretsoff

Photo: Constantin Gretsoff

5 Teach Studio O Constantin Gretsoff

Photo: Constantin Gretsoff

6 Teach Studio O Constantin Gretsoff

Photo: Constantin Gretsoff

For the second Teacher’s Studio from 26. to 30. January 2016, approximately twenty art teachers and NGO staff from five surrounding villages, as well as art students from Sukhum/i and Gudauta, came to Ochamchyra (Eastern Abkhazia¹). This time it was based on an introduction to screen printing techniques.

Under the guidance of Silas Heizmann and Fabian Pfeil, the participants gained an insight into the various steps and started with techniques that were easy to implement: from printing with cut-out stencils through to drawing directly on the screens to exposing templates. Instead of using UV lamps, which could not be procured on site, construction spotlights were used, and even sunlight in the case of a power failure. Printing was done primarily on paper, but to everyone’s delight also on T-shirts. The technology was well received and at the end, the participants organised a small exhibition of the works.

As in the first Teacher’s Studio half a year before, the participants stayed together in a hotel. In the evenings they discussed how the technology could be used in schools in Abkhazia. It became clear that more know-how and experience would be needed to teach the screen-printing technique in art classes.

Place and year
Ochamchyra, 2016

Artistic direction
Silas Heizmann
Fabian Pfeil

Project management
Sabine Jenni (artasfoundation)

Local coordination
Selma Zantarya

Partner organisation
Ochamchyra Youth House (Director Selma Zantarya)

Financial contribution
Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC)

Otschamtschira 2015

1 Ganz Monney Jenni Reichert

Photos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

2 Ganz Monney Jenni Reichert

Photos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

3 Ganz Monney Jenni Reichert

Photos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

4 Ganz Monney Jenni Reichert

Photos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

5 Ganz Monney Jenni Reichert

Photos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

6 Ganz Monney Jenni Reichert

Photos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

7 Ganz Monney Jenni Reichert

Photos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

The first Teacher’s Studio took place from 2. to 11. September 2015 in Ochamchyra, a small coastal town on the Black Sea. Twenty art teachers and NGO staff from five villages and cities in Eastern Abkhazia¹ took part in this workshop on methods and approaches for modern art teaching, they shared information on the situation in their communities and organisations and reflected on possible future cooperations.

During this first Teacher’s Studio, the Basel art teachers Iris Ganz and Evelyne Monney ran a drawing workshop. It included numerous individual and group exercises that could be used in art projects with children and young people. The work was undertaken indoors and outdoors, in pencil, watercolour, gouache, ink and felt-tip pens, utilising photos and various papers that had been brought along. In addition to this, the participants took part in group discussions on how they could design future art projects with children and young people in their communities and in collaboration with each other.

The workshop was very well received. Even though some of the participants had never used special methods for teaching drawing before, they all got involved in the experiment and discovered new potential in themselves and in others. In the concluding discussion, it turned out that there was a great need for material, financial assistance and further education. In the end, all participants received material that will allow them to carry out the exercises in their schools and organisations with children and young people. In the months following the workshop, most participants were to try out the new exercises with the children and young people in their schools and organisations.

Place and year
Ochamchyra, 2015

Artistic direction
Iris Ganz
Evelyne Monney

Project management
Sabine Jenni (artasfoundation)

Local coordination
Selma Zantarya

Partner organisation
Ochamchyra Youth House (Director, Selma Zantarya)

Financial contribution
Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC)

Material donations
Caran d’Ache
Lachenmeier Farben

¹artasfoundation would like to underline that its use of names and titles particularly in regards to conflict regions should not be understood as implying any form of recognition or non-recognition by the foundation or as having any other political connotation whatsoever.

Kunst im Wiederaufbau

Teacher’s Studio

Das Teacher’s Studio ist eine Serie von drei Workshops für Menschen in Ostabchasien¹, die beruflich im Bereich bildende Kunst mit Kindern und Jugendlichen arbeiten, oder planen, dies zu tun. Neben Kunstlehrer*innen und Kunststudierenden sind auch Mitarbeitende von NGOs angesprochen, die im Bereich Kinder- und Jugendarbeit tätig sind.

Anstoss für das Projekt war die Beobachtung, dass es in Abchasien¹ wenig künstlerische (Freizeit-) Angebote für Kinder und Jugendliche gibt und die raren Angebote mit sehr bescheidenen materiellen, räumlichen, finanziellen und pädagogischen Ressourcen durchgeführt werden. Das Repertoire ist beschränkt, weil einerseits Material und finanzielle Mittel fehlen und andererseits, weil es seit dem Krieg 1991–1993 kaum internationalen Austausch gibt und wenig Information über innovative Kunstprojekte mit Kindern und Jugendlichen bis in die Städte und Dörfer Abchasiens¹ vordringen.

Das Teacher’s Studio will künstlerische Freizeitangebote für Kinder und Jugendliche in Dörfern und kleinen Städten Ostabchasiens¹ fördern und insbesondere Menschen unterstützen und vernetzen, die in diesem Bereich tätig sind. Es bringt neues Know-how und Materialien in diese entlegene Region und leistet einen Beitrag zum Aufbau eines Netzwerks von kulturell aktiven Menschen.

Soziale Netzwerke

 

Gal/i 2016

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Foto: Frank Ellenberger

Das dritte Teacher’s Studio befasst sich noch einmal vertieft mit Siebdruck und findet vom 19. bis 24. September 2016 in Gal/i statt, der östlichsten Stadt Abchasiens¹. Zwölf Teilnehmende des Siebdruck-Einführungskurses vom Januar 2016 in Otschamtschira reisen ein zweites Mal an, um ihre Kenntnisse zu festigen und sich vertieft mit den technischen Aspekten dieser Drucktechnik zu befassen.

Im Workshop setzen sich die Teilnehmenden zum einen mit Optionen verschiedener Phasen des Druckverfahrens auseinander – vom Beschichten übers Auswaschen der Siebe, vom Mischen der Farben bis zu den Lösungsmitteln. Zum andern veranstalten die Teilnehmer*innen drei Anlässe in Schulen, an denen sie ihr Wissen weitergeben. Die Teilnehmenden aus Gal/i und Kochora wenden die neue Technik an drei Nachmittagen in der Mittelschule in Kochora an. Hier belichten die Schüler*innen zudem eigene Vorlagen. Die Teilnehmenden aus Otschamtschira bieten im Internat ihrer Stadt einen zweitägigen Workshop an, in dem die Schüler*innen zunächst eigene Papierschablonen entwerfen und zum Schluss ein Motiv auf mitgebrachte T-Shirts drucken. Die Schweizer Workshopleiter können sich bei den Schulworkshops ganz im Hintergrund halten, da kaum noch Fragen auftauchen. Die Lehrer*innen der Kunstschule in Gal/i entscheiden sich sogar, Siebdruck an ihrer Schule als neues Fach einzuführen.

Das Siebdruck-Material ist nun an drei Orten in Abchasien¹ gelagert: Alle Teilnehmenden des Teacher’s Studio haben Zugang zum Material und sind eingeladen, es für ihre eigenen Zwecke oder für Workshops zu verwenden. Zudem besuchen die Teilnehmenden zum Abschluss gemeinsam eine professionelle Siebdruckwerkstatt in Suchum/i. Der Inhaber Daur Gumba verspricht, den neuen Kolleg*innen für technische Fragen und Materialbestellungen zur Verfügung zu stehen.

Partner

Künstlerische Leitung
Silas Heinzmann
Fabian Pfeil

Projektleitung
Sabine Jenni (artasfoundation)

Lokale Koordination
Tsira Shubladze

Partnerorganisation
Kunstschule Gal/i (Gulnara Kardava)

Finanzieller Beitrag
DEZA Kooperationsbüro für den Südkaukasus

Otschamtschira 2016

Foto: Constantin Gretsoff

Foto: Constantin Gretsoff

Foto: Constantin Gretsoff

Foto: Constantin Gretsoff

Foto: Constantin Gretsoff

Foto: Constantin Gretsoff

Für das zweite Teacher’s Studio vom 26. bis 30. Januar 2016 kommen rund 20 Kunstlehrer*innen und Mitarbeitende von NGOs aus fünf umliegenden Ortschaften sowie Kunststudierende aus Suchum/i und Gudauta nach Otschamtschira (Ostabchasien¹). Diesmal geht es um die Einführung in die Siebdruck-Technik.

Unter der Leitung von Silas Heizmann und Fabian Pfeil erhalten die Teilnehmenden Einblick in die verschiedenen Arbeitsschritte und gehen von einfach zu realisierenden Techniken aus: vom Drucken mit ausgeschnittenen Schablonen über Zeichnungen direkt auf den Sieben bis hin zur Belichtung der Vorlagen. Anstelle von UV-Lampen, die vor Ort nicht zu beschaffen sind, wird mit Baustrahlern und bei Stromausfall sogar mit Sonnenlicht belichtet. Gedruckt wird vor allem auf Papier, zum Abschluss jedoch zur Freude aller auch auf T-Shirts. Die Technik stösst auf grossen Anklang. Zum Abschluss wird mit den Arbeiten eine kleine Ausstellung organisiert.

Wie auch im ersten Teacher’s Studio ein halbes Jahr zuvor wohnen die Teilnehmenden gemeinsam in einem Hotel. An den Abenden wird darüber diskutiert, wie die Technik in Schulen in Abchasien¹ eingesetzt werden könnte. Es wird klar, dass mehr Know-how und Erfahrung notwendig sind, um die Siebdruck-Technik im Kunstunterricht zu vermitteln.

Partner

Künstlerische Leitung
Silas Heinzmann
Fabian Pfeil

Projektleitung
Sabine Jenni (artasfoundation)

Lokale Koordination
Selma Zantarya

Partnerorganisation
Ochamchyra Youth House (Selma Zantarya)

Finanzieller Beitrag
DEZA Kooperationsbüro für den Südkaukasus

Otschamtschira 2015

Fotos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

Fotos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

Fotos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

Fotos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

Fotos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

Fotos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

Fotos: Iris Ganz, Evelyne Monney, Sabine Jenni, Dagmar Reichert

Das erste Teacher’s Studio findet vom 2. bis 11. September 2015 in Otschamtschira, einer kleinen Stadt an der Schwarzmeerküste, statt. 20 Kunstlehrer*innen und Mitarbeitende von NGOs aus fünf Dörfern und Städten Ostabchasiens¹ nehmen an diesem Workshop zu Methoden und Ansätzen für einen modernen Kunstunterricht teil, tauschen sich über die Situation in ihren Gemeinden und Organisationen aus und denken über mögliche künftige Kooperationen nach.

In diesem ersten Teacher’s Studio leiten die Basler Kunstpädagoginnen Iris Ganz und Evelyne Monney eine Zeichenwerkstatt. Sie umfasst zahlreiche Einzel- und Gruppenübungen, die in Kunstprojekten mit Kindern und Jugendlichen angewendet werden können. Gearbeitet wird mit Bleistiften, Wasserfarben, Gouache, Tusche, Filzstiften, mitgebrachten Fotos und verschiedenen Papieren, drinnen und draussen. Daneben gehen die Teilnehmenden in Gruppendiskussionen der Frage nach, wie sie in Zukunft in ihren Gemeinden oder in Kooperation miteinander Kunstprojekte mit Kindern und Jugendlichen gestalten können. Sie messen künstlerischen Freizeitangeboten für Kinder und Jugendliche eine hohe Bedeutung bei.

Die Werkstatt kommt sehr gut an. Obwohl sich einige der Teilnehmenden noch nie mit speziellen Methoden für den Zeichenunterricht beschäftigt haben, lassen sich alle auf das Experiment ein und entdecken bei sich selbst und den anderen neue Potentiale. In der abschliessenden Diskussion stellt sich heraus, dass ein grosses Bedürfnis nach Material, finanziellen Mitteln und Weiterbildungsangeboten besteht. Immerhin erhalten am Ende alle Teilnehmenden Material, das es ihnen erlaubt, die erprobten Übungen in ihren Schulen und Organisationen mit Kindern und Jugendlichen durchzuführen.

Partner

Künstlerische Leitung
Iris Ganz
Evelyne Monney

Projektleitung
Sabine Jenni (artasfoundation)

Lokale Koordination
Selma Zantarya

Partnerorganisation
Ochamchyra Youth House (Selma Zantarya)

Finanzieller Beitrag
DEZA Kooperationsbüro für den Südkaukasus

Materialspenden
Caran d’Ache
Lachenmeier Farben

¹artasfoundation betont, dass die Nutzung von Bezeichnungen und Namen, besonders im Hinblick auf die Konfliktregionen, nicht als Anerkennung oder Nichtanerkennung durch die Stiftung ausgelegt werden sollen. Sie haben in diesem Zusammenhang keinerlei politische Konnotationen.