Art and peace-mediation
a

Art in Dialogue

Since 2012, artasfoundation and the Henry Dunant Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue (HD Centre) have been jointly exploring the possibilities of the presence of art in conflict mediation processes. The HD Centre is an independent, private mediation organisation committed to the peaceful resolution of armed conflicts. It is supported by governments, private foundations and patrons and has become one of the most influential conflict mediation organisations in the world. As an impartial foundation, it provides facilitators and mediators between warring groups and supports the international mediator community.

Today, international conflicts are becoming increasingly complex. The deeper global interdependence, the growing influence of foreign or expatriate interest groups on local communities, creative flexibility in the connection between political and economic actors, the extended reach of criminal networks, new, influential technologies for mass media (mis)portrayals, growing demographic and ecological pressure: these are some of the dynamics that demand ongoing rethinking and a further development of mediation methods. One of its initiatives is to explore, together with artasfoundation, how art can support peace processes.

 

Art in Dialogue 2014

1 artindialog 2013

Photo: artasfoundation

2 artindialog 2013

Photo: artasfoundation

3 artindialog 2013

Photo: artasfoundation

4 artindialog 2013 1

Photo: artasfoundation

5 artindialog 2013 1

Photo: artasfoundation

6 artindialog 2013 1

Photo: artasfoundation

7 artindialog 2013 1

Photo: artasfoundation

After the first cooperation between artasfoundation and the HD Centre in 2012, which had resulted in an exhibition at the Villa am Genfersee, the team of the HD Centre showed interest in a deeper insight into artistic working methods. Therefore the 2014 edition gave it an opportunity to find out more about the work of four visual artists, artasfoundation had invited. Their discussions with the employees of the HD Centre formed the basis for the artists’ project proposals and the choice of the works to be shown. Among these the HD Centre made a selection and invited the two artists, Silvia Bächli (Basel/Karlsruhe) and Lidwien van den Ven (Rotterdam/Berlin), to present their work in their premises.

Silvia Bächli showed several constellations of brush drawings and collages, often traces of memories that stimulate the mind into thinking differently. Lidwien van de Ven showed a series of large-format black-and-white photographs from the Middle East, in which she contrasted well-known media images with alternative perspectives.

The exhibition opened to the public on 20. November 2014 in the presence of the Mayor of Geneva, Sami Kanaan.

Invitation
Video

Place and year
Geneva, 2014

Artists
Silvia Bächli
Lidwien Van De Ven

Curator
Dagmar Reichert (artasfoundation)

Exhibition facility
Nic Bezemer
Thomas Heimann
Andrea Saemann

Partner organisation
Henry Dunant Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue (HD Centre)

Financial contribution
Private donations

Art in Dialogue 2012

1 artindialog 2012

Photo: artasfoundation

2 artindialog 2012

Photo: artasfoundation

3 artindialog 2012

Photo: artasfoundation

4 artindialog 2012

Photo: artasfoundation

6 artindialog 2012

Photo: artasfoundation

In 2012, artasfoundation installed art for the first time in the three conference rooms of the HD Centre in Geneva. Series of works by Beatrice Minda (Berlin),
 Ayaz Jokhio (Lahore) and Hajra Waheed (Montreal) were shown. In the selection of the works not only artistic quality, but also cultural sensibilities of negotiating delegations who regularly used the Villa Plantamour premises were considered. Thus, the selection was carried out in close collaboration with the curators of artasfoundation, with Catherine David, who could be won for this project, Dagmar Reichert, and the team of the HD Centre.

The exhibition opened on 10. October 2012. The works remained in the meeting rooms until the end of April 2013. The initial reaction to the presence of artistic works in the conference rooms was positive: they provided a point of contact for discussions and supported the creation of a constructive atmosphere. Still, it remained difficult to say to what extent the complexity of artistic works present in settings for negotiations can counteract possible tendencies of adversaries towards making simple categorisations. In addition to the effect the works had on the atmosphere for discussions, the opportunity to make the HD Centre accessible to a wider audience through the occasion of the exhibition’s vernissage proved to be particularly valuable.

Video

Place and year
Geneva, 2012

Artists
Beatrice Minda (Berlin)
Ayaz Jokhio (Lahore)
Hajra Waheed (Montreal)

Curators
Catherine David
Dagmar Reichert (artasfoundation)

Partner organisation
Henry Dunant Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue (HD Centre)

Kunst und Mediation
a

Art in Dialogue

Seit 2012 erproben artasfoundation und das Henry Dunant Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue (HD Centre) gemeinsam die Möglichkeiten der Präsenz von Kunst in Prozessen der Konfliktmediation. Das HD Centre ist eine unabhängige, private Mediationsorganisation, die sich für die friedliche Lösung bewaffneter Konflikte einsetzt. Sie wird von Regierungen, privaten Stiftungen sowie Mäzen*innen unterstützt und ist im Bereich der Konfliktvermittlung eine der weltweit einflussreichsten Organisationen. Als unparteiliche Stiftung stellt sie Gesprächsleiter*innen (facilitators) oder Mediator*innen zwischen kriegführende Gruppierungen und unterstützt die internationale Mediatorengemeinde.

Heutige internationale Konflikte sind sehr komplex. Die globale Verflechtung, der wachsende Einfluss fremder oder im Ausland lebender Interessensgruppen auf lokale Gemeinschaften, eine kreative Flexibilität zwischen politischen und ökonomischen Akteuren, die ausgedehnte Reichweite krimineller Netzwerke, neue, einflussreiche Technologien für massenmediale (Fehl-)Darstellungen, wachsender demografischer und ökologischer Druck: Das sind einige der Dynamiken, die das Überdenken und die Weiterentwicklung von Mediationsmethoden verlangen. Eine Initiative des HD Centre ist es daher, zusammen mit artasfoundation zu erproben, wie Kunst Friedensprozesse unterstützen kann.

 

Art in Dialogue 2014

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Nach der ersten Kooperation von artasfoundation mit dem HD Centre im Jahr 2012, einer Ausstellung in der Villa am Genfersee, zeigt das Team des HD Centre Interesse an einem vertieften Einblick in künstlerische Arbeitsweisen. Für die Fortsetzung des Projektes erhalten sie deshalb die Gelegenheit mehr über die Arbeit von vier, von artasfoundation ausgewählten Künstler*innen zu erfahren. Auf der Basis dieser Gespräche mit Mitarbeiter*innen des HD Centres erarbeiten die Künstler*innen Projektvorschläge und die Auswahl zu zeigender Arbeiten. Das Team des HD Centre wählt aus den Projektvorschlägen aus und lädt die beiden Künstlerinnen Silvia Bächli (Basel/Karlsruhe) und Lidwien van de Ven (Rotterdam/Berlin) ein, ihre Werke in den Räumen des HD Centre zu präsentieren.

Silvia Bächli zeigt mehrere Konstellationen von Pinselzeichnungen und Collagen, häufig Erinnerungsspuren, die zu neuen Sichtweisen einladen, Lidwien van de Ven eine Reihe grossformatiger Schwarz-Weiss-Fotografien aus dem Nahen Osten, in denen sie bekannten Medienbildern alternative Ansichten entgegensetzt.

Am 20. November 2014 wird die Ausstellung an einer öffentlichen Veranstaltung im Beisein des Genfer Stadtpräsidenten Sami Kanaan eröffnet.

Einladung
Video

Ort und Jahr
Genf, 2014

Künstlerinnen
Silvia Bächli
Lidwien Van De Ven

Kuratorin
Dagmar Reichert (artasfoundation)

Ausstellungseinrichtung
Nic Bezemer
Thomas Heimann
Andrea Saemann

Partnerorganisation
Henry Dunant Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue (HD Centre)

Finanzieller Beitrag
Private Spende

Art in Dialogue 2012

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

2012 installiert artasfoundation zum ersten Mal Kunst in den drei Konferenzräumen des HD Centre in Genf. Es werden Werke von Beatrice Minda (Berlin), Ayaz Jokhio (Lahore) und Hajra Waheed (Montreal) gezeigt. Die Auswahl dieser Werke ist abgestimmt auf Verhandlungsdelegationen aus arabischen Ländern, welche die Räumlichkeiten der Villa Plantamour zu dieser Zeit regelmässig nutzen. Sie erfolgt in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Kurator*innen der artasfoundation, mit Catherine David, die für dieses Projekt gewonnen werden konnte, Dagmar Reichert und dem Team des HD Centre.

Am 10. Oktober 2012 ist die Vernissage der Ausstellung. Die Werke bleiben bis Ende April 2013 in den Sitzungsräumen. Die Reaktionen auf die Präsenz künstlerischer Arbeiten in den Konferenzräumen sind positiv: Wie erhofft ermöglichen sie Anknüpfungspunkte für Gespräche und unterstützten das Schaffen einer konstruktiven Atmosphäre. Wie weit die Komplexität der künstlerischen Arbeiten dann im Rahmen von Verhandlungen eventuellen Tendenzen zu Kategorisierungen etwas entgegensetzen kann, ist jedoch schwer zu sagen. Neben der Wirkung der Arbeiten auf die Gesprächsatmosphäre erweist sich insbesondere die Möglichkeit, das HD Centre anlässlich der Vernissage einem weiteren Publikum zugänglich zu machen, als wertvoll.

Video

Ort und Jahr
Genf, 2012

Künstler*innen
Beatrice Minda (Berlin)
Ayaz Jokhio (Lahore)
Hajra Waheed (Montreal)

Kuratorinnen
Catherine David
Dagmar Reichert (artasfoundation)

Partnerorganisation
Henry Dunant Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue (HD Centre)