Art and peace-building
a

Lela

Video: artasfoundation

1 2

Photo: artasfoundation

2 2

Photo: artasfoundation

3 2

Photo: artasfoundation

4 3

Photo: artasfoundation

5 2

Photo: artasfoundation

6 1

Photo: artasfoundation

In 2013, artasfoundation was invited by the Danish Refugee Council (DRC) to participate in its Youth Leadership Program in Abkhazia¹ with a theatre project. The programme enabled the youngest generation from communities with different culture and language in Abkhazia to participate in joint workshops. The young people were made aware of topics such as non-violent communication, the environment, gender roles, but above all they had the experience of successful cooperation, conflicts resolved in a friendly way and familiarity beyond prejudice, despite the fact that all families were affected by war and deprivation.

Like many wars in recent decades, the conflict over Abkhazia was and is a conflict preceded by the political instrumentalisation of ethnic origins of cultures that have lived side by side for centuries. Mutual understanding, indeed appreciation, of cultural diversity within a younger generation are a prerequisite for the success of a civil society. The work of the DRC, supported for this theatre project by artasfoundation, tries to make a contribution to this end.

The Basel director Anina Jendreyko and the actor Nadim Jarrar are interested in the everyday themes of young people, their role assignments and behavioural patterns. In March 2014, they were invited by artasfoundation to work in Abkhazia*. Supported by a DRC team (Natia Belkania, Lela Rusia), they led several theatre workshops in the spring and summer with 24 performers between the ages of 15 and 21. Over and above all ethnic differences, the young people came together to form a playful and imaginative theatre group. They trained and improvised and created a wealth of small scenes that were finally condensed into a play. The fairy tale Snow White served as a dramaturgical understructure; it was familiar to all participants, whether they came from Swiss and German-Palestinian families, like Anina and Nadim, or whether they were of Mingrelian, Georgian, Abkhazian or Russian origin and language, like the young people.

The play Lela was performed publicly in October 2014 as part of a small tour of the performers’ home communities. The performances took place in Ochamchyra, Pirveli Gal/i, Sukhum/i, Chegali and Chuburkhinji and reached a large, enthusiastic audience.

In Switzerland, Lela was presented on 12. November 2014 in the Gare du Nord, Basel, in the form of several individual reports and a video documentation. The artist Arkhip Labakua from Sukhum/i completed the event with a puppet show. The evening was part of the accompanying programme to the Basel OSCE Conference organised by Swisspeace at the request of the Basel municipality.

Place and year
Abkhazia, 2014

Participants
Ada, Arslan, Asmata, Barbare, Dato, Lika, Nino, Gela, Gina, Guram, Inal, Irakli, Lida, Maldina, Malvina, Mariam, Mariam, Mate, Milana, Natija, Pada, Shoti, Tado, Timor

Artistic direction
Anina Jendreyko
Nadim Jarrar

Project management
Dagmar Reichert (artasfoundation)
Annina Zimmermann (artasfoundation)

Interpreters
Angela Adzinba, Suchum/i

Partner organisations
Danish Refugee Council (DRC) in Gal/i (Vincent Dontot)
Stiftung Swisspeace, Bern
Task Force OSZE-Vorsitz Schweiz
Schweizer Botschaft in Georgien
Theater Gare du Nord, Basel

Financial contribution
Task Force OSZE-Vorsitz Schweiz
Swisslos Fonds Basel Stadt

¹artasfoundation would like to underline that its use of names and titles particularly in regards to conflict regions should not be understood as implying any form of recognition or non-recognition by the foundation or as having any other political connotation whatsoever.

Kunst im Wiederaufbau

Lela

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

Foto: artasfoundation

2013 wird artasfoundation vom Danish Refugee Council (DRC) eingeladen, sich mit einem Theaterprojekt an ihrem Youth Leadership Program in Abchasien¹ zu beteiligen. Das Projekt ermöglicht der jungen Generation der vielsprachigen und -kulturellen Gemeinden Abchasiens¹ gemeinsame Workshops. Die Jugendlichen sensibilisieren sich dabei für Themen wie gewaltfreie Kommunikation, Umwelt, Geschlechterrollen – vor allem aber erleben sie erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit, freundschaftlich beigelegte Konflikte und Vertrautheit jenseits von Vorurteilen bei aller familiären Prägung durch Krieg und Entbehrung.

Wie viele Kriege in den letzten Jahrzehnten war und ist der Konflikt um Abchasien¹ eine Auseinandersetzung, der die politische Instrumentalisierung ethnischer Herkunft jahrhundertelang miteinander zusammenlebender Kulturen voranging. Die gegenseitige Verständigung, ja die Wertschätzung kultureller Vielfalt innerhalb einer jüngeren Generation sind Voraussetzung für das Gelingen einer zivilen Gesellschaft. Die Arbeit des DRC, im Theaterprojekt unterstützt von artasfoundation, leistet dazu einen wichtigen Beitrag.

Die Basler Regisseurin Anina Jendreyko und der Schauspieler Nadim Jarrar interessieren sich für Alltagsthemen von Jugendlichen, ihre Rollenzuweisungen und Verhaltensmuster. Im März 2014 werden sie von artasfoundation zur Arbeit in Abchasien¹ eingeladen. Unterstützt von einem Team des DRC (Natia Belkania, Lela Rusia) leiten sie im Frühling und im Sommer mehrere Theaterworkshops mit 24 Darsteller*innen im Alter zwischen 15 und 21 Jahren. Über alle ethnischen Differenzen hinweg finden die jungen Leute zu einer spielfreudigen und fantasievollen Gruppe zusammen, und es entsteht eine Fülle von Improvisationen, die sie schliesslich zu einem Stück verdichten. Als dramaturgischer Bogen dient das Märchen Schneewittchen, das allen Beteiligten vertraut ist – ob sie nun aus schweizerischen und deutsch-palästinensischen Familien stammen wie Anina und Nadim oder mingrelischer, georgischer, abchasischer oder russischer Herkunft und Sprache sind wie die jungen Leute.

Das Theaterstück Lela wird im Oktober 2014 im Rahmen einer kleinen Tournee in den Heimatgemeinden der Darsteller*innen öffentlich aufgeführt. Die Vorstellungen finden in Ochamchyra, Pirveli Gali, Suchum/i, Chegali und Chuburkhinji statt und erreichen ein grosses, begeistertes Publikum.

In der Schweiz wird Lela am 12. November 2014 im Theater Gare du Nord Basel durch vielstimmige Berichte und eine Videodokumentation vorgestellt. Der Künstler Arkhip Labakua aus Suchum/i ergänzt die Veranstaltung mit einem Puppentheaterstück. Der Abend bildet einen Teil des Begleitprogramms zur Basler OSZE-Konferenz, das Swisspeace im Auftrag der Basler Regierung organisiert.

Partner

Teilnehmende
Ada, Arslan, Asmata, Barbare, Dato, Lika, Nino, Gela, Gina, Guram, Inal, Irakli, Lida, Maldina, Malvina, Mariam, Mariam, Mate, Milana, Natija, Pada, Shoti, Tado, Timor

Künstlerische Leitung
Anina Jendreyko
Nadim Jarrar

Projektleitung
Dagmar Reichert (artasfoundation)
Annina Zimmermann (artasfoundation)

Übersetzung
Angela Adzinba, Suchum/i

Partnerorganisationen
Danish Refugee Council (DRC) in Gal/i (Vincent Dontot)
Stiftung Swisspeace, Bern
Task Force OSZE-Vorsitz Schweiz
Schweizer Botschaft in Georgien
Theater Gare du Nord, Basel

Finanzieller Beitrag
Task Force OSZE-Vorsitz Schweiz
Swisslos Fonds Basel Stadt

¹artasfoundation betont, dass die Nutzung von Bezeichnungen und Namen, besonders im Hinblick auf die Konfliktregionen, nicht als Anerkennung oder Nichtanerkennung durch die Stiftung ausgelegt werden sollen. Sie haben in diesem Zusammenhang keinerlei politische Konnotationen.