Art and peace-building
a

Art Matters

An exchange project between young art educators from Switzerland and the countries of the South Caucasus.

It brings together young people from Switzerland and the South Caucasus who are training to be art teachers. In 2018, it featured an exchange between students from Zurich and Sukhum/i, and in the following year an exchange between students from Zurich and Yerevan. Each year, the participants met twice, in their own city and in that of the partners, discussed didactic and methodological questions with the local lecturers over a period of two weeks and then tested them in a short school internship. In addition to this, representatives of the school authorities met to exchange views on their work contexts, options for action and future challenges.

The main goal of the project is to promote an exchange between young people from two different cultural areas. By dealing with pedagogical approaches from very different contexts, it should become possible to question procedures that are generally taken for granted. An awareness of the respective cultural heritage in questions of education created opportunities for new impulses that can later be passed on in class. A knowledge of other cultures and the ability to imagine completely different living conditions will form an important tool for prospective educators who intend to teach in an increasingly multicultural society.

The process and the results of the exchange were presented for discussion at a public event in Zurich in November 2019.

Impressions of the students and lecturers of both years can be found on the following Blog.

Website

 

Art Matters Yerevan – Zurich, 2019

2 Art Matters 2019 Olivia Jaques

Photo: Olivia Jaques

3 Art Matters 2019 Olivia Jaques

Photo: Olivia Jaques

5 Art Matters 2019 Olivia Jaques

Photo: Olivia Jaques

6 Art Matters 2019 Olivia Jaques

Photo: Olivia Jaques

7 Art Matters 2019 Olivia Jaques

Photo: Olivia Jaques

8 Art Matters 2019 Olivia Jaques

Photo: Olivia Jaques

9 Art Matters 2019 Jean David Jamet

Photo: Jean David Jamet

10 Art Matters 2019 Olivia Jaques

Photo: Olivia Jaques

12 Art Matters 2019 Dagmar Reichert

Photo: Dagmar Reichert

13 Art Matters 2019 Jean David Jamet

Photo: Jean David Jamet

16 Art Matters 2019 Bastian Riesen

Photo: Bastian Riesen

12 Art Matters Evan Ruetsch

Photo: Evan Ruetsch

13 Art Matters Evan Ruetsch

Photo: Evan Ruetsch

14 Art Matters Evan Ruetsch

Photo: Evan Ruetsch

15 Art Matters Evan Ruetsch

Photo: Evan Ruetsch

16 Art Matters Evan Ruetsch

Photo: Evan Ruetsch

17 Art Matters Evan Ruetsch

Photo: Evan Ruetsch

18 Art Matters Evan Ruetsch

Photo: Evan Ruetsch

For the second year of the Art Matters project, an exchange between students from the Art Faculty of the Yerevan State Pedagogical University (ASPU) and the Art Education Department of the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK) with 11 students and lecturers from Zurich and Yerevan took place; in Yerevan in the spring of 2019 and in Zurich/Bülach in the late summer of 2019.

During the first meeting in April in Yerevan the participants worked on a teaching concept in four mixed, Swiss-Armenian groups. In the second week, the lessons prepared by the student groups were put into practice: at a primary school in central Yerevan, at a primary school on the outskirts of the city, and at an afternoon art school. Discussions accompanied and condensed the ongoing learning process and revealed different pedagogical and artistic approaches. Special highlights of the stay in Yerevan were the visit to the NCA Henrik Igityan Children’s Art Gallery and excursions to the pre-Christian cult site of Garni (Garni Pagan Temple), to the Geghard Monastery and to the carpet weaving exhibition Megerian Carpet. The discussion of Jacques Rancière’s text Der unwissende Lehrmeister at the Institute for Contemporary Art (ICA) with Nazareth Karoyan and the Guest of Honour Serob Khachatryan will certainly also be remembered.

The return visit of the students and lecturers of the Armenian State Pedagogical University in Zurich took place in September 2019. Once again they reflected on teaching, teaching art and differences in the understanding of art. The participants once again prepared art classes that were held by them at KZU Bülach. Their headquarter and exhibition venue Les Complices was where everyone met in the morning, where the participants discussed and reflected, prepared their lessons, cooked and eat.

In the – now deepened – cooperation core questions of contemporary pedagogy become clear, for example with regard to translation processes, traditional self-understandings, terminology, the relationship between framing and the unforeseen, and also with regard to the potential of art as a contact zone or as a space of negotiation.

In addition to the successful art lessons prepared by the small groups, all participants will remember the museum visits (Rietberg, Kunsthalle, Long Night of the Museums) and the visit to the performance festival Giswil that included a cold swim.

Place and year
Yerevan, Zurich, 2019

Students
Raya Eghiazaryan, Marine Galstyan, Yervand Grigoryan, Elisa Hüttner, Jean-David Jamet, Astghik Kirakosyan, Hripsime Kirakosyan, Simon Mauchle, Fabio Melone, Janina Müller, Bastian Riesen, Estella Sahakyan, Nicole Salvalaggio, Sevada Sargsyan, Lysanne Stroomer, Arevik Vardanyan

Lecturers
Anne Gruber, Davit Hovhannisyan, Olivia Jaques, Shoghakat Mlke-Galstyan, Dagmar Reichert, Sevada Sargsyan

Interpreters
(Armenia) Mare Babayan, Naira Iritsyan, Davit Karyan, Nare Khandamiryan, Stella Loretsyan, Liza Petrosyan, Sona Sargsyan
(Switzerland) Katja Kuriloval, Nastasia Louveau, Denys Shantar, Nika Timashkova

Project management
Olivia Jaques (artasfoundation)
Anne Gruber (ZHdK)
Shoghakat Mlke-Galstyan

Partner organisations
Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK)
Atelierschule Zürich
Autonome Schule
Base College /High-School/ der Armenian State Pedagogical University
Charenstavan Art School n/a Garzu
Charenstavan Basic School N 2
Kantonsschule Hohe Promenade
KZU Bülach
Les Complices
P. Terlemezyan State College of Fine Arts
Yerevan Basic School N 57
Yerevan Basic School N 84 n/a Kh. Abovyan

Financial contribution
Stiftung Mercator Schweiz
Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK)
Private donations

Art Matters Sukhum/i – Zurich, 2018

1 Art Matters Judit Villiger

Photo: Judit Villiger

2 Art Matters Judit Villiger

Photo: Judit Villiger

3 Art Matters Judit Villiger

Photo: Judit Villiger

4 Art Matters Vadim Levin

Photo: Vadim Levin

5 Art Matters Dagmar Reichert

Photo: Dagmar Reichert

6 Art Matters Vadim Levin

Photo: Vadim Levin

7 Art Matters Vadim Levin

Photo: Vadim Levin

8 Art Matters Vadim Levin

Photo: Vadim Levin

9 Art Matters Vadim Levin

Photo: Vadim Levin

10 Art Matters Judit Villiger

Photo: Judit Villiger

11 Art Matters Dagmar Reichert

Photo: Dagmar Reichert

12 Art Matters Dagmar Reichert

Photo: Dagmar Reichert

13 Art Matters Judit Villiger

Photo: Judit Villiger

14 Art Matters Dagmar Reichert

Photo: Dagmar Reichert

15 Art Matters Dagmar Reichert

Photo: Dagmar Reichert

16 Art Matters Dagmar Reichert

Photo: Dagmar Reichert

In the first year of the Art Matters project, an exchange took place between students from the Art Education department of the Zurich University of the Arts and art students from the University and the Art College of Sukhum/i.

In April 2018, fifteen people from Switzerland (students and lecturers) travelled to the capital of Abkhazia¹ for a two-week stay. In the first week, they visited two training centres for art instruction and teacher training under the guidance of their local colleagues. Together with the students from Sukhum/i they formed four working groups, each of which prepared specific topics and materials for class lessons. In the second week, each of the groups was able to sit in on classes in one of four schools in the city and then take over a class for teaching art. The groups were supported by language students from Sukhum/i who worked as translators.

The work and cooperation of the students was then discussed in daily sessions for joint reflection: all in all, an intensive, friendly cooperation developed. The cross-cultural and cross-lingual coordination, as well as the encounter of different pedagogical traditions, was a challenge in which all the participants learned a great deal.

The second part of the exchange took place in Zurich in September 2018. Here, too, the first week focused on orientation in the local school system (this time also involving museum pedagogy) and on preparing lessons in mixed working groups. In the second week, the students gave individual art lessons to pupils at the Kantonsschule Bülach. According to the participants from Abkhazia, their visit to Zurich had already made a lasting impact on them. During the later evaluation at home, they also discussed which aspects of their own didactic methods were confirmed in the exchange and where they were able to receive new ideas. The same went for the participants from Switzerland: the initial descriptions of ‘academic, technology-oriented teaching in the Caucasus’ versus ‘free promotion of expression and creativity’ in Swiss art teaching should be considered in a much more differentiated way. In the encounter with educators from another cultural area, one’s own self-image is challenged.

Blog

Place and year
Sukhum/i, Zurich, 2018

Students
Aida Adzhba, Timyr Akhuba, Kama Arshba, Daniela Ashuba, Janset Aruttaa, Salima Bartsyts, Arsoy Berzenia, Amra Chichibaia, Anika Erbach, Tereza Glazova, Anna Gogoli, Anna-Pia Rauch, Denys Shantar, Doris Signer, Claudia Siragna, Muriel Steiner, Zita Strübi, Nora Vetterli

Lecturers
Amiran Adleba (Sukhum/i)
Lasha Gabelia (Sukhum/i)
Maktina Gogia (Sukhum/i)
Priska Senn (Kantonsschule Bülach)
Judit Villiger (ZHdK)
Susanne Wintsch (ZHdK)

Project management
Dagmar Reichert (artasfoundation)
Manana Tsvizhba (Sukhum/i)
Judit Villiger (ZHdK)

Documentation
Vadim Levin, Maria Pomiansky, Christoph Ullmann

Partner organisations
Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK) (Heinrich Lüber, Peter Truniger)
Art College and Art Department of the University of Sukhum/i

Financial contribution
Stiftung Mercator Schweiz
Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK)
Private donations

¹artasfoundation would like to underline that its use of names and titles particularly in regards to conflict regions should not be understood as implying any form of recognition or non-recognition by the foundation or as having any other political connotation whatsoever.

Kunst im Wiederaufbau

Art Matters

Dieses Projekt fördert den Austausch zwischen jungen Kunstpädagog*innen aus der Schweiz und aus den Ländern des Südkaukasus.

Junge Menschen, die in der Schweiz und im Südkaukasus zu Lehrpersonen für den Kunstunterricht an Schulen ausgebildet werden, kommen in Workshops zusammen. 2018 sind es Studierende aus Zürich und Suchum/i, im Folgejahr Studierende aus Zürich und Jerewan. In jedem Jahr trifft man sich zweimal, in der eigenen Stadt und in jener der Partner, diskutiert zwei Wochen unter Einbezug der Dozierenden didaktische und methodische Fragestellungen und erprobt diese dann in einem kurzen Schulpraktikum. Zudem treffen sich Mitglieder der Schulbehörden zu einer Diskussion über Arbeitskontexte, Handlungsoptionen und zukünftige Herausforderungen.

Durch die Auseinandersetzung mit pädagogischen Ansätzen aus sehr unterschiedlichen Kulturräumen und Kontexten sollen für selbstverständlich genommene Vorgehensweisen hinterfragt werden. Ein Bewusstsein für das jeweilige kulturelle Erbe in Erziehungsfragen soll Raum für neue Impulse schaffen, Impulse, die später im Unterricht weitergegeben werden können. Fundiertes Wissen über fremde Kulturen und ein Vorstellungsvermögen für andere Lebensbedingungen bilden ein wichtiges Rüstzeug für die angehenden Pädagog*innen, die in einer zunehmend multi-kulturellen Gesellschaft unterrichten werden.

Der Prozess und die Ergebnisse des Austausches werden im November 2019 in einer öffentlichen Veranstaltung in Zürich zur Diskussion gestellt.

Blog

 

Art Matters Jerewan – Zürich, 2019

Foto: Olivia Jaques

Foto: Olivia Jaques

Foto: Olivia Jaques

Foto: Olivia Jaques

Foto: Olivia Jaques

Foto: Olivia Jaques

Foto: Jean David Jamet

Foto: Olivia Jaques

Foto: Dagmar Reichert

Foto: Jean David Jamet

Foto: Bastian Riesen

Im zweiten Jahr des Projektes Art Matters findet ein Austausch zwischen Studierenden des Bereichs Art Education der Armenian State Pedagogical University und der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste statt – im Frühling 2019 in Jerewan, im Spätsommer 2019 in Zürich/Bülach. Insgesamt 11 Personen aus Zürich (Studierende und Dozentinnen) treffen auf 11 Personen aus Jerewan und treten in eine intensive, jeweils zweiwöchige Zusammenarbeit.

Das erste Treffen findet im April 2019 in Jerewan statt. In der ersten Woche werden vier gemischte Studierendengruppen gebildet, welche im Verlauf dieser Woche jeweils zu viert ein Unterrichtskonzept erarbeiten. Gemeinsam wird die Stadt, vor allem aber der Kunstunterricht an verschiedenen Schulen (Primarschulen, Nachmittags- beziehungsweise Kunstschule, Kunst-College, Armenian State Pedagogical University) erkundet (hospitierend oder teilnehmend). In der zweiten Woche werden die von den Studierendengruppen vorbereiteten Unterrichtskonzepte an verschiedenen Schulen praktisch umgesetzt: die Studierenden unterrichten in Teams an einer Primarschule im Zentrum Jerewans, an einer in der Peripherie und an einer Nachmittags-/Kunstschule. Unterstützt und begleitet werden die Studierenden und Dozierenden in ihrem Austausch von Übersetzer*innen: Drei Übersetzerinnen begleiten die Gruppe konstant, drei weitere Übersetzer*innen sind angehende Englischlehrende (Studierende der Armenian State Pedagogical University). Sie nutzen das Projekt als Praktikum, um von ihren erfahreneren Kolleginnen zu lernen. Reflexionsgespräche in der grossen Runde, sowie zwischen den Dozierenden werden täglich abgehalten; sie verfolgen, teilen, kondensieren den konstanten Lernprozess. Unterschiedliche pädagogische und künstlerische Zugänge werden deutlich zwischen den Institutionen, zwischen den einzelnen Dozierenden und zwischen den besuchten Schulen. Besondere Höhepunkte des Aufenthalts in Jerewan bildet der Besuch der NCA Henrik Igityan Children’s art gallery und Ausflüge zur vorchristlichen Kultstätte von Garni (Garni pagan temple), zum Geghard Kloster und zur Teppichausstellung/-weberei Megerian Carpet. In Erinnerung bleibt sicher auch die Diskussion Jacques Rancières Textes Der unwissende Lehrmeister im ICA, dem Institute for Contemporary Art, mit Nazareth Karoyan und dem Ehrengast Serob Khachatryan.

Im September 2019 findet schliesslich der Rückbesuch der Studierenden und Dozierenden der  Als Projektraum dient den Teilnehmer*innen der selbstorganisierte Ausstellungsort Les Complices. Hier kommt man in der Früh zusammen, bespricht und reflektiert in grosser Runde, bereitet in kleiner Runde den Unterricht vor, hier wird gekocht und gegessen. Eine wichtige Rolle spielen abermals die Übersetzer*innen – übersetzt wird dieses Mal nicht von Armenisch auf Englisch, sondern von Russisch auf Deutsch (Armenisch und Englisch bleiben selbstverständlich Teil des konstanten Aushandlungsprozesses) – und zusätzlich die Gastgeber*innen, welche die armenischen Gäste beherbergen.

In der – nun vertieften – Zusammenarbeit der Teilnehmenden werden Kernfragen der zeitgenössischen (Kunst-)Vermittlung deutlich: zum Beispiel hinsichtlich Übersetzungsvorgänge, erlernter und tradierter Selbstverständnisse, Klärung von Begrifflichkeiten, dem Verhältnis von Rahmungen und Unvorhergesehenem und auch hinsichtlich des Potenzials von Kunst als Begegnungszone beziehungsweise Aushandlungsraum.

Nebst den wirklich gelungenen Unterrichtsstunden der Kleingruppen bleiben uns sicherlich die Museumsbesuche (Rietberg, Kunsthalle, lange Nacht der Museen), der John-Dewey-Lesenachmittag im Garten, das nächtlichem Eisessen mit Grillade und das Performancefestival Giswil mit dortigem Badebesuch in Erinnerung.

Am 28. November 2019 findet eine Reflexionsveranstaltung inklusive Ausstellung an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste zum insgesamt zweijähren Pilotprojekt statt. Im Zentrum steht ein Austausch über die gemachten Erfahrungen ausgehend von den Fragen: Was konnte durch den Austausch über das vertraute Schulsystem und Kunstverständnis gelernt werden? Was kann für eine*n selbst und für die zukünftige Lehre gelernt werden?

Eindrücke der Studierenden und Dozierenden beider Jahrgänge finden sich auch auf folgendem Blog.

Partner

Studierende
Raya Eghiazaryan, Marine Galstyan, Yervand Grigoryan, Elisa Hüttner, Jean-David Jamet, Astghik Kirakosyan, Hripsime Kirakosyan, Simon Mauchle, Fabio Melone, Janina Müller, Bastian Riesen, Estella Sahakyan, Nicole Salvalaggio, Sevada Sargsyan, Lysanne Stroomer, Arevik Vardanyan

Dozierende
Anne Gruber, Davit Hovhannisyan, Olivia Jaques, Shoghakat Mlke-Galstyan, Dagmar Reichert, Sevada Sargsyan

Übersetzung
(Armenien) Mare Babayan, Naira Iritsyan, Davit Karyan, Nare Khandamiryan, Stella Loretsyan, Liza Petrosyan, Sona Sargsyan
(Schweiz) Katja Kuriloval, Nastasia Louveau, Denys Shantar, Nika Timashkova

Projektleitung
Olivia Jaques (artasfoundation)
Anne Gruber (ZHdK)
Shoghakat Mlke-Galstyan

Partnerorganisationen
Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK)
Atelierschule Zürich
Autonome Schule
Base College /High-School/ der Armenian State Pedagogical University
Charenstavan Art School n/a Garzu
Charenstavan Basic School N 2
Kantonsschule Hohe Promenade
KZU Bülach
Les Complices
P. Terlemezyan State College of Fine Arts
Yerevan Basic School N 57
Yerevan Basic School N 84 n/a Kh. Abovyan

Finanzieller Beitrag
Stiftung Mercator Schweiz
Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK)
Private Spenden

Art Matters Suchum/i – Zürich, 2018

Foto: Judit Villiger

Foto: Judit Villiger

Foto: Judit Villiger

Foto: Vadim Levin

Foto: Dagmar Reichert

Foto: Vadim Levin

Foto: Vadim Levin

Foto: Vadim Levin

Foto: Vadim Levin

Foto: Judit Villiger

Foto: Dagmar Reichert

Foto: Dagmar Reichert

Foto: Judit Villiger

Foto: Dagmar Reichert

Foto: Dagmar Reichert

Foto: Dagmar Reichert

Im ersten Jahr des Projektes Art Matters erfolgt ein Austausch zwischen Studierenden des Bereichs Art Education der Kunsthochschule Zürich und Kunststudierenden der Universität und des Kunstkollegs in Suchum/i.

Im April 2018 reisen 15 Personen aus der Schweiz (Studierende und Dozentinnen) für einen zweiwöchigen Aufenthalt in die Stadt in Abchasien¹. In der ersten Woche besuchen sie unter Führung ihrer einheimischen Kolleg*innen zwei Ausbildungsstätten für Kunstunterricht und Lehrerausbildung. Mit den Studierenden aus Suchum/i in bilden sie vier Arbeitsgruppen, die jeweils bestimmte Themen und Materialien für den Schulunterricht vorbereiten. In der zweiten Woche kann jede der Gruppen an einer von vier Schulen in der Stadt hospitieren und in Schulklassen einzelne Lektionen im Kunstunterricht erteilen. Unterstützt werden die Gruppen von Sprachstudierenden aus Suchum/i, die als Übersetzer*innen tätig sind.

Die Arbeit der Studierenden wird in einer täglichen, gemeinsamen Reflexionssitzung nachbesprochen: Insgesamt – so kommt es zum Ausdruck – entsteht eine intensive, freundschaftliche Zusammenarbeit. Die kultur- und sprachübergreifende Koordination sowie die Begegnung unterschiedlicher pädagogischer Traditionen bilden eine Herausforderung, bei der alle Beteiligten viel lernen.

Der zweite Teil des Austausches findet im September 2018 in Zürich statt. Auch hier geht es in der ersten Woche um eine Orientierung im Schulsystem vor Ort (diesmal auch unter Einbezug von Museumspädagogik) und um Unterrichtsvorbereitung in gemischten Arbeitsgruppen. In der zweiten Woche leiten die Studierenden einzelne Lektionen des Kunstunterrichts für Schüler*innen der Kantonsschule Bülach. Gemäss den Teilnehmer*innen aus Abchasien¹ bildet allein der Besuch in Zürich eine nachhaltige Erfahrung. Bei der späteren Evaluation zu Hause beschreiben sie zudem, welche Aspekte ihrer eigenen didaktischen Arbeitsweisen sich im Austausch bestätigt und wo sie neue Impulse erhalten haben. Für die Teilnehmer*innen aus der Schweiz ist es ähnlich: Die anfängliche Zuschreibung „akademisches, an Technik orientiertes Unterrichten im Kaukasus“ versus „freies Fördern von Ausdruck und Kreativität“ im Schweizer Kunstunterricht muss viel differenzierter betrachtet werden. In der Begegnung mit den Pädagog*innen aus dem anderen Kulturraum wird das eigene Selbstverständnis in Frage gestellt.

Blog

 

Partner

Studierende
Aida Adzhba, Timyr Akhuba, Kama Arshba, Daniela Ashuba, Janset Aruttaa, Salima Bartsyts, Arsoy Berzenia, Amra Chichibaia, Anika Erbach, Tereza Glazova, Anna Gogoli, Anna-Pia Rauch, Denys Shantar, Doris Signer, Claudia Siragna, Muriel Steiner, Zita Strübi, Nora Vetterli

Dozierende
Amiran Adleba (Suchum/i)
Lasha Gabelia (Suchum/i)
Maktina Gogia (Suchum/i)
Priska Senn (Kantonsschule Bülach)
Judit Villiger (ZHdK)
Susanne Wintsch (ZHdK)

Projektleitung
Dagmar Reichert (artasfoundation)
Manana Tsvizhba (Suchum/i)
Judit Villiger (ZHdK)

Dokumentation
Vadim Levin, Maria Pomiansky, Christoph Ullmann

Partnerorganisationen
Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK)
Kunstkolleg und Kunstdepartement der Universität Suchum/i

Finanzieller Beitrag
Stiftung Mercator Schweiz
Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK)
Private Spenden

¹artasfoundation betont, dass die Nutzung von Bezeichnungen und Namen, besonders im Hinblick auf die Konfliktregionen, nicht als Anerkennung oder Nichtanerkennung durch die Stiftung ausgelegt werden sollen. Sie haben in diesem Zusammenhang keinerlei politische Konnotationen.