Teacher's Studio

Teacher's Studio 2016 • Gal/i

The Teacher's studio was a series of three workshops for adults who work with children and youth in the area of visual arts or who would like to work in this area. Apart from art teachers and art students also employees of NGOs active in the work with children and youth were invited to take part.

The impulse for the Teacher’s studio was the insight that artistic (leisure) activities for children and youth in Abkhazia are either inexistent or, if they exist, they are organised with very limited resources in terms of material, space, funding and teachers. Often, also the repertoire of activities is limited. The latter is related to limited access to material and funding, but also to a lack of exchange with the outside world and a lack of information on activities other than soviet style drawing lessons and traditional dancing classes. Information about innovative artistic activites with children and young people only rarely found their way in the towns and villages of Abkhazia.

The project Teacher’s studio aims at (re)establishing artistic activities as leisure activities for youth in villages and small towns of Eastern Abkhazia. To that end, it provides new and modern know-how and material to people active in organising artistic activities for youth in this deprived region. Hopefully, the project is a first step which contributes to the growth of a network between culturally active people.


Link:
The Teacher's studio on facebook



* artasfoundation would like to underline that its use of names and titles particularly with regard to the conflict regions should not be construed as implying any form of recognition or non-recognition by the foundation or as having any other political connotation whatsoever.

 

The third Teacher's studio took place from 19.-24. September 2016 in Gal/i, the easternmost city in Abkhazia. A group of around ten participants of the introductory screenprinting workshop in January 2016 participated a second time in order to consolidate their knowledge and look deeper into the technical aspects of screenprinting. This advanced workshop allowed them to share their know-how with pupils during workshops they conducted themselves in two schools.

The screenprinting workshop in the framework of the third Teacher's studio was a workshop for advanced participants who showed a specific interest in screenprinting during the second Teacher's studio. On the one hand, the workshop dealt with all necessary technical aspects of screenprinting, be it the preparation of the screens or their cleaning, mixing the colours or working with chemical products. On the other hand, the participants planned three events, where they shared their knowledge with children and youth. The three events were the opening of the newly renovated rooms of the Art School in Gal/i, where the participants together with the visiting children printed on t-shirts, as well as two screenprinting workshops for pupils. Like in the first Teacher's studio, the third Teacher's studio strongly focused on the transfer of the acquired knowledge from the participants to children and youth.

The school workshops and the transfer were successful. The participants from Ochamchyra conducted a two-days workshop in the boarding school in their town. The pupils drew their own paper stencils, but at the end also printed on t-shirts. The participants from Gal/i and Kokhora conducted their workshop during three afternoons in the middle school in Kokhora, a village near Gal/i. In this workshop, the pupils in the end even were working with the exposure of their own stencils to light. Finally, the teachers of the Art School Gal/i, where the workshop was taking place, decided to include screenprinting in the curriculum of their school. During the school workshops, the workshop leaders of the Teacher's studio remained completely in the background, as there did not almost not emerge any questions the participants were not able to answer themselves.

The screenprinting material is now stored in three different places in Abkhazia: in the Art School in Gal/i, in the Ochamchyra Youth House (project partner of the first two Teacher's studios) and in the cultural centre SKLAD in Sukhum/i (partner of the projects Curator's initiative und Conversation pieces). All participants have access to the material in one of the places and are invited to use the material for their own purposes or for workshops. In addition, the participants visited a professional screenprinting studio in Sukhum/i. The owner and director Daur Gumba presented his equipment and works and promised to support the new colleagues in technical questions and in case they want to order new material.


Project coordinator:
Sabine Jenni

Silas Heinzmann

*1990, teaches the silk-printing workshop in the Teacher’s studio. Six years ago, Silas founded his own silk-printing studio. He works as as a freelance artist and graphic designer in Basel. Silas studied art and graphic design in Basel and Leipzig.

Fabian Pfeil
* 1980, originally trained in machine design, has been self-employed as a silk-screen printer since 4 years. Together with Silas Heizmann, Fabian curates a screen-printing studio in Basel.

Art School Gal/i
The Art School in Gal/i offers afternoon and weekend classes for schoolchildren in subjects like drawing, painting and art history. The school has functioned since the 1990s, most of the time without having rooms of its own. Classes were held in a corridor of another school. Since summer 2016, the Art School is now located in a central building of Gal/i, in their own rooms which were renovated with the financial support of artasfoundation.
The Art School director Gulnara Kardava and her team coordinated the third Teacher's studio in Gal/i.


Tsira Shubladze (NGO Avangard)

Tsira Shubladze supported the team of the Art School with their organisational tasks.
NGO Avangard on facebook


SDC Cooperation office for the Southern Caucasus
https://www.eda.admin.ch/deza/en/home.html

Teacher's Studio

Teacher's Studio 2016 • Gal/i

Das Teacher's studio war eine Serie von drei Workshops für Menschen, die beruflich im Bereich bildende Kunst mit Kindern und Jugendlichen arbeiten oder das gerne tun würden. Neben Kunstlehrer_innen und Kunststudierenden waren auch Mitarbeiter_innen von NGOs angesprochen, die im Bereich Kinder- und Jugendarbeit tätig sind.

Anstoss für das Projekt gab die Beobachtung, dass es in Abchasien* nur wenig künstlerische (Freizeit-)Angebote für Kinder und Jugendliche gibt und die wenigen vorhandenen Angebote mit sehr bescheidenen materiellen, räumlichen, finanziellen und pädagogischen Ressourcen durchgeführt werden. Das Repertoire an Angeboten ist beschränkt. Einerseits, weil Material und finanzielle Mittel fehlen und andererseits, weil es seit dem Krieg 1992-93 und kaum Austausch mit der übrigen Welt gibt, kaum Informationen über innovative Kunstprojekte mit Kindern und Jugendlichen bis in die Städte und Dörfer Abchasiens vordringen.

Das Projekt Teacher’s studio will künstlerische Freizeitangebote für Kinder und Jugendliche in den Dörfern und kleinen Städten Ostabchasiens  fördern und insbesondere Menschen unterstützen und vernetzen, die in diesem Bereich tätig sind. Das Teacher’s studio bringt Know-how und Materialien in diese entlegene Weltregion und will einen Beitrag zum Aufbau eines Netzwerks von kulturell aktiven Menschen leisten.


Link:

Das Teacher's Studio auf facebook


* artasfoundation betont, dass die Nutzung von Bezeichnungen und Namen, besonders im Hinblick auf die Konfliktregionen, nicht als Anerkennung oder Nichtanerkennung durch die Stiftung ausgelegt werden sollten. Diese haben in diesem Zusammenhang keinerlei politische Konnotationen.

Das dritte Teacher’s Studio fand vom 19.-24. September 2016 in Gal/i statt, der östlichsten Stadt Abchasiens. Eine Gruppe von rund zehn Teilnehmer_innen des Siebdruck-Einführungskurses im Januar 2016 reisten ein zweites mal an, um ihre Kenntnisse zu festigen und sich vertieft mit den technischen Aspekten von Siebdruck auseinanderzusetzen. Dies erlaubte ihnen anschliessend, die eigenen Kenntnisse als Workshopleiter für Schüler_innen an zwei Schulen weiterzugeben.

Der Siebdruck-Workshop im Rahmen des dritten Teacher's studios war ein eigentlicher Vertiefungsworkshop. Zum einen setzten sich die Teilnehmer_innen im Detail mit den technischen Aspekten des Siebdrucks auseinander. Vom Beschichten übers Auswaschen der Siebe, vom Mischen der Farben bis hin zu den Lösungsmitteln wurde alles behandelt. Zum andern planten die Teilnehmer_innen drei Anlässe, an denen sie ihr Wissen weitergeben konnten. Diese drei Anlässe waren die Eröffnung der neu renovierten Räumlichkeiten der Kunstschule Gal/i, an der sie einen Siebdruckstand für Kinder anboten, sowie zwei Siebdruck-Workshops für Schüler_innen. Wie im ersten Teacher's studio lag der Schwerpunkt stark auf dem Transfer des erworbenen Know-hows an Kinder und Jugendliche.

Die Schulworkshops und damit der Transfer können als gelungen bezeichnet werden. Die Teilnehmer_innen aus Otschamtschyra boten im Internat ihrer Stadt einen zweitägigen Workshop an, an dem die Schüler_innen zunächst eigene Papierschablonen entwarfen und zum Abschluss ein Motiv auf mitgebrachte T-shirts druckten. Die Teilnehmer_innen aus Gal/i und Kochora gaben ihr Wissen an drei Nachmittagen in der Mittelschule in Kochora, einem kleinen Ort unweit von Gal/i, weiter. Hier kamen die Schüler_innen zum Schluss sogar so weit, eigene Vorlagen zu belichten. Schliesslich entschieden die Lehrer der Kunstschule in Gal/i, Siebdruck an ihrer Schule als neues Fach einzuführen. Die Workshopleiter konnten sich bei den Schulworkshops komplett im Hintergrund halten, da kaum noch Fragen aufkamen.

Das Siebdruck-Material ist nun an drei Orten in Abchasien gelagert: in der Kunstschule in Gal/i, im Ochamchyra Youth House (Projektpartner der ersten zwei Teacher's studios) und im Kulturzentrum SKLAD in Suchum/i (Partner der Projekte Curator's initiative und Conversation pieces). Alle Teilnehmer_innen des Teacher's studio haben an einem der Orte Zugang zu Material und sind eingeladen, es für ihre eigenen Zwecke oder für Workshops weiterzuverwenden. Zudem besuchten die Teilnehmer_innen zum Abschluss gemeinsam eine professionelle Siebdruckwerkstatt in Suchum/i. Der Inhaber Daur Gumba führte seine Maschinen vor, zeigte seine Arbeiten und versprach, den neuen Kolleg_innen für technische Fragen und Materialbestellungen zur Verfügung zu stehen.


Projektkoordinatorin:
Sabine Jenni

Silas Heinzmann

*1990, leitet den Siebdruck-Workshop im Teacher’s studio. Silas gründete vor 6 Jahren sein eigenes Siebdruckatelier und arbeitet seither als freischaffender Künstler und Grafiker in Basel. Er studierte Kunst und Grafikdesign in Basel und in Leipzig.


Fabian Pfeil
* 1980, gelehrte Maschinenzeichner, arbeitet seit 4 Jahren selbständig als Siebdrucker und betreut zusammen mit Silas Heizmann ein eigenes Atelier in Basel.


Kunstschule Gal/i
Die Kunstschule Gal/i bietet an Nachmittagen und Wochenenden Unterricht für Schulkinder in Fächern wie Zeichnen, Malen und Kunstgeschichte an. Die Schule existiert seit den 1990er Jahren, allerdings lange Zeit ohne eigene Räumlichkeiten. Unterrichtet wurde im Korridor einer anderen Schule. Seit dem Sommer 2016 befindet sich die Kunstschule nun in Räumlichkeiten in einem zentralen Gebäude in Gal/i, welche mit der finanziellen Unterstützung von artasfoundation renoviert wurden.
Die Direktorin der Kunstschule Gulnara Kardava und ihr Team koordinierten das dritte Teacher's studio in Gal/i.


Tsira Shubladze (NGO Avangard)

Tsira Shubladze unterstützte das Team der Kunstschule bei organisatorischen Aufgaben.
NGO Avangard auf facebook


SDC Cooperation office for the Southern Caucasus
https://www.eda.admin.ch/deza/de/home.html