Tskaltubo Art Festival

Resort to Art II • Tskaltubo • Georgia

In cooperation with a local NGO artasfoundation organizes Tskaltubo Art Festival from September 5 to 7, 2014. Tskaltubo is a former thermal resort in the province of Imereti. In Sovjet times, Tskaltubo was famous for its Radon springs. Today it hosts about 4'500 fugitives of Abkaz origins, many of whom have been living in the former sanatoriums under improvised conditions for twenty years.


Tskaltubo Art Festival is being prepared by the project Resort to Art - in allusion to using art for spiritual survival as well as to turning a former tourist resort into a cultural center. The festival provides the framework for an exchange between local, national and international artists, dancers and musicians. Presentations prepared in collaborative workshops with Tskaltubo dance ensembles, choirs, music and art schools contribute to the festival stage and exhibition program. In the year 2013 up to 300 inhabitants participated in preparing the festival on stage or behind the scenes and the 28 events reached an audience of around 600 from the neighborhood of Tskaltubo.

In 2014 the project continues. To assist in creating opportunities for the local IDP families - to experiment creatively and to be perceived in their competence by the larger community - remains our goal. It is an opportunity for them to participate in the further development of Tskaltubo. The festival contributes to the reestablishment of the place as a tourist destination. It also encourages cultural activity outside the dominant capital and connects the region with current developments in Tbilisi and foreign countries.

Refugee Women’s Union of Tskaltubo (Tskaltubo, Georgia)
(Lali Grigolava und Nino Kvaratskhelia, l.grigolava@mail.ru)

SDC Cooperation office for the Southern Caucasus
https://www.eda.admin.ch/countries/georgia/en/home/representations/swiss-cooperation-office-in-tbilisi.html

 

Stanley Thomas Johnson Foundation
http://www.johnsonstiftung.ch/

Tskaltubo Art Festival

Resort to Art II • Tskaltubo • Georgien

Bereits zum zweiten Mal führt artasfoundation gemeinsam mit einer lokalen IDP-Organisation das Tskaltubo Art Festival durch: am 5., 6. und 7. September 2014. Tskaltubo, ein ehemals berühmter Thermalkurort in der georgischen Provinz Imereti, beherbergt bis heute ca. 4'500 Flüchtlinge aus Abchasien, die hier in ehemaligen Sanatorien zum Teil seit zwanzig Jahren behelfsmässig untergebracht sind.


Das Tskaltubo Art Festival wird mit dem Projekt "Resort to Art" vorbereitet - was soviel bedeutet wie Rückgriff auf die Kunst, aber auch vom Kur- zu Kunstort. In diesem Rahmen tauschen sich lokale Kunstschaffende mit nationalen und internationalen KünstlerInnen aus. Das Festivalprogramm entwickelt sich aus kollaborativen Workshops der Tanzgruppen, Chören, Musik- und Kunstschulen mit internationalen Kunstschaffenden. Im Jahr 2013 waren bis zu 300 Bewohner/innen aus Tskaltubo auf der Bühne und hinter den Kulissen involviert und erreichten mit 28 Veranstaltungen ein Publikum von bis zu 600 aus dem nähern Umkreis des Ortes Tskaltubo.


2014 führen wir das Projekt weiter. Das Ziel bleibt dabei, die Flüchtlinge in ihren Kompetenzen in Erscheinung treten zu lassen und sie in die zukünftige Entwicklung des Ortes besser einzubinden. Das Festival trägt zum Wiederaufbau des Tourismus des in der Sowjetzeit sehr bedeutenden Kurortes bei und könnte den Beteiligten damit auch andere Betätigungsfelder eröffnen. artasfoundation ist es wichtig, in Georgien das Kulturschaffen auch ausserhalb der sonst dominanten Hauptstadt zu fördern und die Region mit Entwicklungen aus Tiflis und aus dem Ausland zu verknüpfen.

Refugee Women’s Union of Tskaltubo (Tskaltubo, Georgien)
(Lali Grigolava und Nino Kvaratskhelia, l.grigolava@mail.ru)

DEZA Kooperationsbüro für den Südkaukasus
https://www.eda.admin.ch/countries/georgia/en/home/representations/swiss-cooperation-office-in-tbilisi.html

Stanley Thomas Johnson Stiftung
http://www.johnsonstiftung.ch/