Curator's Initiative • Sukhum/i • Switzerland

Exhibition "Open air games"

In February 2016, the exhibition "Open air games" took place in Sukhum/i* in the cultural centre "Sklad". The curators of the exhibition, Tanya Ergunova and Asida Butba, are the leading young women among a loose group of young people interested in art and culture in Sukhum/i. The participating artists were from Switzerland. Three of them travelled to Sukhum/i. Andrea Wolfensberger built a sculpture of sand in the exhibition space, Markus Schwander developed an existing work further, and Beat Lippert organised a silent Pétanque championship. The exhibition was a playful approach to contemporary art and served as an impulse for the further development of the cultural centre "Sklad", which was initiated by the curators.

Artists:


Curators: Asida Butba und Tanya Ergunova


Project:

In the framework of the project Curator’s initiative, artasfoundation supports the two young curators Asida Butba and Tanya Ergunova in their curatorial work. artasfoundation found the curators by an open call. The two successful applicants were invited on a two-weeks research trip to Switzerland in August 2015, on which they visited museums, exhibitions, off-spaces and artists in their studios in Zurich, Basel, Berne, Môtiers, Lausanne and Geneva. After this intensive research trip, they chose seven artists which were exhibited in Sukhum/i in February 2016.

 

Asida Butba and Tanya Ergunova are the leading figures of a loose group of young people in Sukhum/i, who aim to build a self-organised artistic and cultural space. The group found a provisory home in the storage room of the drama theatre, where they organised the „first exhibition of contemporary art in Abkhazia“ in October 2015. The exhibition showed works from an exhibition, which was organised by artasfoundation in fall 2014 (see project Connecting spaces), as well as works by various artists from Sukhum/i. The exhibition was well-received by the public. It was covered by the local television channel and internet journals and provoked a discussion about what „contemporary“ art can or should be. In December 2015, the curators organised an exhibition of the well-known Sukhum/i artist Arkhip Lapakhua.


Links:
The "first exhibition of contemporary art in Abkhazia" on facebook

Exhibition space "Sklad dramteatra" on facebook


Project coordinator:
Sabine Jenni



* artasfoundation would like to underline that its use of names and titles particularly with regard to the conflict regions should not be construed as implying any form of recognition or non-recognition by the foundation or as having any other political connotation whatsoever.

Task Force OSCE Chairmanship Switzerland

http://www.eda.admin.ch

Curator's Initiative • Suchum/i • Schweiz

Ausstellung "Open Air Games":

Im Februar 2016 fand in Suchum/i im Kulturzentrum "Sklad dramteatra" die Ausstellung "Open Air Games" statt. Tanya Ergunova und Asida Butba, die führenden Köpfe einer losen Gruppe von jungen kulturinteressierten Menschen haben die Ausstellung kuratiert. Alle teilnehmenden Künstler_innen stammten aus der Schweiz. Drei Künstler_innen reisten für die Ausstellung nach Suchum/i. Andrea Wolfensberger baute vor Ort eine Skulptur aus Sand, Markus Schwander entwickelte eine bestehende Arbeit weiter und Beat Lippert organisierte ein Pétanque-Turnier. Die Ausstellung war ein spielerischer und zum Spiel einladender Einstieg in die zeitgenössische Kunst und ein Impuls für die Weiterentwicklung des von den Kuratorinnen initiierten Kulturzentrums "Sklad".

Teilnehmende Künstler_innen:


Kuratorinnen: Asida Butba und Tanya Ergunova


Projekt:

Im Rahmen des Projektes Curator’s initiative unterstützt artasfoundation die zwei jungen Kuratorinnen Asida Butba und Tanya Ergunova. Die zwei Kuratorinnen haben sich auf eine Ausschreibung hin bei artasfoundation beworben und wurden daraufhin auf eine Recherchereise in die Schweiz eingeladen. Im August 2015 haben sie Künstlerinnen und Künstler in ihren Ateliers, Museen, Ausstellungen und freie Kunsträume in Zürich, Basel, Bern, Môtiers, Lausanne und Genf besucht. Nach dieser intensiven Reise wählten sie sieben Künstler_innen aus, welche in der Ausstellung im Februar 2016 ausstellten.

 

Asida Butba und Tanya Ergunova sind die führenden Köpfe einer losen Gruppe von jungen Menschen in Suchum/i, die einen freien Kunst- und Kulturraum aufbauen wollen. Die Gruppe hat im Kulissenlager des Dramatheaters provisorisch einen Raum gefunden, wo im Oktober 2015 die „erste Ausstellung moderner Kunst in Abchasien“ stattfand. In der Ausstellung wurden Arbeiten aus der von artasfoundation organisierten Ausstellung in Basel im Herbst 2014 (siehe Projekt Connecting Spaces) sowie weiterer Künstler_innen aus Suchum/i gezeigt. Die Ausstellung stiess auf Anklang, führte zu Berichten im lokalen Fernsehen und in Internetzeitungen und stiess Diskussionen darüber an, was „zeitgenössische Kunst“ sein soll. Im Dezember 2015 fand eine Ausstellung des Suchumer Künstlers Arkhip Labakhua statt.

Links:
Die "erste Ausstellung zeitgenössischer Kunst in Abchasien" auf facebook

Der Ausstellungsraum "Sklad dramteatra" auf facebook



Projektkoordinatorin:
Sabine Jenni





* artasfoundation betont, dass die Nutzung von Bezeichnungen und Namen, besonders im Hinblick auf die Konfliktregionen, nicht als Anerkennung oder Nichtanerkennung durch die Stiftung ausgelegt werden sollten. Diese haben in diesem Zusammenhang keinerlei politische Konnotationen.

Task Force Schweizer OSZE-Vorsitz
http://www.eda.admin.ch