Bring Your Own Chair

Bring your own chair I • Zugdidi • Georgia

Context

Zugdidi is a district capital in the Samegrelo province of western Georgia, situated right next to the present administrative border with Abkhasia (320 km from Tbilisi). Of the approx. 120,000 inhabitants, one-third are refugees. Most of them arrived from Abkhasia in 1993-94 and found shelter with relatives, in hotels, schools or empty factories in and around Zugdidi. In the twenty years since, the housing situation in some of these shelters could be improved slightly and some families were resettled. But the majority of the refugees still live in poverty, suffering from the same lack of economic prospects that the whole population is faced with. The current unemployment rate of the district population is approx. 80%, and off-migration is high.

 

In 2008 Zugdidi was briefly occupied by Russian troops, who later withdrew behind the Enguri River which forms part of the present administrative border. The Enguri bridge, the only official border crossing, is about 8 km from Zugdidi and can only be crossed with special permission (or preordered registration in case of foreigners).

 

Project

As the commencement of the project series "Bring your own chair"artasfoundation together with the Georgian NGO Samegrelo Medea organized a series of open-air cinema screenings in fall 2012. Over a period of four weeks a total of 28 film screenings took place at 13 different places in and around the town of Zugdidi. The open-air cinemas were set-up in small villages or in IDP Collective Centres. A pre-film from the Georgian film history, followed by an international feature film were screened respectively on an entrance free basis.
(film list)

The objective of this project was to bring film art, after an interruption of 25 years, back to a remote and war-affected region in Georgia. For the local people and those displaced from Abkhazia, the films should open up a window to different regions of the world and present different topics that are currently discussed in international cinema. Thereby, the project reconnects to a tradition of cinema, which existed in West Georgia/Abkhazia until the beginning of the 1990s.

Although screenings and non-political events in public places seemed unfamiliar for the majority of the audience, they were nevertheless well received. The audience ranged from 30 to 120 people, including many children. Of all the films that were shown (12 short films and 14 feature films) , it was particularly the American and European classics, which met the taste of the audience.

During the screenings in Zugdidi contacts with local authorities and schools were established, aimed towards the creation of a locally supported cinema initiative.

A project team, consisting of three employees of the partner NGO and three employees of artasfoundation, was responsible for the evening screenings. In terms of technology, a mobile projection system powered by solar energy was used (Development: Cinema Solaire, Winterthur).


Time plan

April – Juli 2012: Project preparation in Georgia and in Zurich, selection of films, clarification of screening rights etc.


August/ September 2012: 28 screenings in Zugdidi and different places in the neighbourhood


October 2012: Evaluation

Samegrelo Medea, Zugdidi (Marina Davitaia, makage56@mail.ru)


SDC Cooperation office for the Southern Caucasus
https://www.eda.admin.ch/deza/

We thank

All those who supported this project Astrablu Media (Josi Konski), Zviad Arabidze, Natia Bachilava, Lana Chakhaia, Gaga Chkheidze, HFF München (Ferdinand Freising), Hunter Group (Christina Hunter), Lavan Jabua, Tamara Janashia, Nana Janelidze, Maka Jikia, Rusudan Kalichava, Peter Liechti, Fiona Meisel, Stadtverwaltung Zugdidi, Pandorafilm (Eva Blondiau), Birgit Reichert, Cinéma Solaire (Christoph Seiler), Sounding Images (Claus Wischmann), Cyrill Schläpfer, Beat Schneider, Volgafilm (Ludmila Sirokova), Yves Yersin und Stucky Film, Zaentz Media Center (David Bergad) and many others;

those who gave additional financial support
RhW Stiftung, Valüna Stiftung and SDC-Southern Caucasus.

and the project-team
artasfoundation: Patrick Kull (project leader), Adrian Bodisch and Corina Caviezel.
Samegrelo Medea: Marina Davitaia (project leader), Iana Emukhvari, Teimuraz Gitolendia and Shorena Ketsbaia.

Bring Your Own Chair

Bring your own chair I • Zugdidi • Georgien

Kontext

Zugdidi ist die Hauptstadt der Region Megrelien und Oberswanetien im Westen Georgiens (320 km von Tiflis entfernt) und grenzt an die gegenwärtige Administrativ-Grenze zu Abchasien. Von rund 120’000 Einwohnern sind rund ein Drittel Flüchtlinge. Die meisten von ihnen kamen in den Jahren 1993/1994 aus Abchasien und haben Zuflucht bei Verwandten, in Hotels, Schulen oder leerstehenden Fabriken in und um Zugdidi gefunden. In den vergangenen, knapp 20 Jahren hat sich die Wohnsituation in manchen ihrer Unterkünften leicht verbessert und einige Familien wurden umgesiedelt. Die Mehrheit der Flüchtlinge lebt jedoch weiter in Armut und leidet besonders stark unter den mangelnden ökonomischen Perspektiven, mit denen auch die einheimische Bevölkerung konfrontiert ist. Die gegenwärtige Arbeitslosenrate in der Region beläuft sich auf ungefähr 80% und die Abwanderung ist hoch.


2008 wurde Zugdidi kurzzeitig von russischen Truppen besetzt. Diese zogen sich später hinter den Fluss Enguri zurück, welcher nun einen Teil der aktuellen Administrativ-Grenze darstellt. Über die Enguri-Brücke führt der einzige offizielle Grenzübergang. Dieser liegt ungefähr 8 km von Zugdidi entfernt und kann nur mit einer Spezialbewilligung überquert werden (oder im Falle von Ausländern mit einer voraus beantragten Genehmigung).

 

Projekt

Unter dem Titel „Bring your own Chair“ veranstaltete artasfoundation gemeinsam mit der georgischen NGO Samegrelo Medea im Herbst 2012 eine Serie von open-air Kinovorführungen. In einem Zeitraum von vier Wochen fanden insgesamt 28 Filmabende an 13 verschiedenen Orten in und um die Stadt Zugdidi statt. Das open-air Kino wurde in kleinen Dörfern oder bei Unterkünften für Vertriebene (IDP-Collective Centers) aufgebaut. Bei freiem Eintritt waren jeweils ein Vorfilm aus der georgischen Filmgeschichte und ein internationaler Feature Film zu sehen (Filmliste).


Ziel des Projektes war es, nach einer Unterbrechung von 25 Jahren wieder Filmkunst in eine abgelegene
und von Krieg betroffene Region in Georgien zu
bringen. Für die lokale Bevölkerung und die aus
Abchasien vertriebenen Menschen wollte das Projekt
eine Art Fenster zu verschiedenen Regionen der Welt
öffnen und Themen präsentieren, die aktuell im internationalen Kino diskutiert werden. Dabei konnte es auf eine Tradition von Filmvorführungen bezugnehmen, die in Westgeorgien/Abchasien bis in die 1990er Jahre existierte.


Obwohl Filmvorführungen und ausserpolitische Veranstaltungen an öffentlichen Orten für die meisten Besucher ungewohnt waren, fanden sie regen Zuspruch. Das Publikum reichte von 30 bis ca. 120 Personen, darunter viele Kinder. Von den Filmen (12 Kurzfilme und 14 Feature Filme zur Auswahl) trafen insbesondere europäische und amerikanische Klassiker den Geschmack des Publikums. 

Im Zuge der Filmvorführungen in Zugdidi wurden Kontakte zu lokalen Schulen und Behörden geknüpft, mit denen der Aufbau einer lokal getragenen Kinoinitiative begonnen werden kann.

Ein Team aus drei Mitarbeiter_innen von artasfoundation und drei Mitarbeiter_innen der lokalen NGO Samegrelo-Medea organisierte die
Filmvorführungen. Als technische Grundlage
diente ein mobiles Projektionssystem, welches durch Sonnenenergie betrieben wurde (Entwicklung: Cinema Solaire, Winterthur).


Zeitplan

April – Juli 2012: Projektvorbereitung in Georgien und in Zürich, Auswahl
der Filme, Abklärung Rechte, usw.

August / September 2012: 28 Vorstellungen in Zugdidi und verschiedenen Orten in der Umgebung

Oktober 2012: Evaluation

Samegrelo Medea, Zugdidi (Marina Davitaia, makage56@mail.ru)


DEZA Kooperationsbüro für den Südkaukasus
https://www.eda.admin.ch/deza/

Wir danken

den Unterstützern und Unterstützerinnen des Projekts
Astrablu Media (Josi Konski), Zviad Arabidze, Natia Bachilava, Lana Chakhaia, Gaga Chkheidze, HFF München (Ferdinand Freising), Hunter Group (Christina Hunter), Lavan Jabua, Tamara Janashia, Nana Janelidze, Maka Jikia, Rusudan Kalichava, Peter Liechti, Fiona Meisel, Stadtverwaltung Zugdidi, Pandorafilm (Eva Blondiau), Birgit Reichert, Cinéma Solaire (Christoph Seiler), Sounding Images (Claus Wischmann), Cyrill Schläpfer, Beat Schneider, Volgafilm (Ludmila Sirokova), Yves Yersin und Stucky Film, Zaentz Media Center (David Bergad) und vielen anderen;

den zusätzlichen Sponsoren
RhW Stiftung, Valüna Stiftung und SDC-Südkaukasus

und dem Projektteam
artasfoundation: Patrick Kull (Leitung), Adrian Bodisch und Corina Caviezel.
Samegrelo Medea: Marina Davitaia (Leitung), Iana Emukhvari, Teimuraz Gitolendia und Shorena Ketsbaia